To Blog, or Not to Blog, That is the Question…

IMG_0971

Dear Reader,

I started blogging in 2011 to meet friends, join an online community about books and reading and to provide an inside look at some of the amazing opportunities I get to experience by working at a publishing company. In those four years, I’ve met so many of you face to face, I’ve got to interview authors I admire and best of all, I’ve got to write about books I have loved reading. But with all those amazing experiences, comes new responsibilities; writing schedules, promotions, expectations I’ve created for myself and new goals. I’ve been pretty good at balancing it all, a few minor slips on the blog, but really, I’ve made coming back here to write a priority. But lately, not so much. Posts that have recently been posted were written almost 3 months ago…

I’ve been really anxious about the whole thing. In an effort to help make a decision, I have been asking friends and family members if I should continue to blog to help make my decision. (By the way, if any of you are reading this, thank you for your amazing input). I even got rid of my cable recently, so I’ve had lots of time to sit down and just write. But every time I amped myself up to do it, I’d come to the computer and have nothing to write. It turns out that I’m really good at creating lists of all the things I could write about and I’m not so good about following through with actually writing about all these “brilliant” ideas I’ve created.

I know now that I just needed time to think about the direction of this blog and whether or not doing it continues to bring me joy or anxiety. Reading has always been my passion. In every sense of the word, I’m a reEder, but writing about reading and books allows me to gain access to a pretty amazing community, which in turn, brings me happiness. Not writing about the books I’m reading or about the amazing experiences I’ve encountered isn’t nearly as fun when I don’t have anyone to talk about it with. SOOOO, I’ve decided that I’m going to continue with blogging. It might not be as frequent as it once was and I might not follow through on challenges I’ve started (sorry to all you Green Gables Readalong readers), but I can promise that I’m not going anywhere.

So stay tuned and here’s to lots of blog posts in the future.

Reeder xx

13 thoughts on “To Blog, or Not to Blog, That is the Question…

  1. Michele | Just a Lil Lost says:

    I’m glad you’re opting to stay with blogging – and I’ve gone through phases as well. I’ve tried to not let myself become too stressed about it and not have it become a chore. I stopped stressing about posting every day or every other day. So some weeks, I’ll have a lot of posts, some times a whole week or two might go by between posts. You have to still enjoy it to be able to do it justice, I feel. 🙂

    • Reeder Reads says:

      I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one that has battled with this “problem”. I think I need to just be okay with not reviewing something, because the anxiety is just not worth it. It’s blogging, not rocket science. Thanks for your kind note Michele. xo

  2. Carole Besharah says:

    OMG… I was totally bummed out reading this post… I thought you were bidding us all farewell. PHEW!!!

    I always enjoy reading your posts. I’ve read several books because of your recommendations. You were actually one of the first bloggers I started following when I had the guts to start my own blog a year ago. It would make me sad to see you go.

    I’m excited that you have new responsibilities and a career you love. Congrats on being so successful in the publishing world! Although I realize that your busy life may lead to you blogging less often, I think it’s awesome. It will make your blog posts even more fun to read when they pop up.

    Cheers!

    • Reeder Reads says:

      Thanks for your kind note Carole. Luckily, I’m not going anywhere. I’m staying put. It’s very sweet to know that you’re a loyal reader and continue to pop by, even when I’ve dropped the ball.

      I look forward to continuing to connect and recommending books to one another 🙂

  3. Naomi says:

    So glad to hear you’re continuing! When I noticed your pretty new background, I was pretty sure that you had decided to stick around. 🙂
    I feel the same way, now that I’m blogging about books, that it just isn’t as much fun to read if I can’t ‘talk’ about it after. That’s what most of us are here for, so when you do get around to posting, we’ll be here to read about it.
    As for the Green Gables readalong, I am just so happy you thought of it and got it going! Don’t worry about us – we’ll just keep going, and you can jump back in if you get a chance!

  4. Lynn @ Smoke & Mirrors says:

    Ack! So glad you decided to stick with it. I think the secret is to just not “guilt” yourself about it. When you have the chance to write and want to, write. But if not, don’t. It’s fine! We’ll be grateful for whatever you publish for us to read! I am playing catch up right now with the GWTW read-along I joined and the most recent Classics Club spin. (It’s definitely wise to thoroughly investigate your books listed for Classics Club before adding them to your spin list. Wouldn’t recommend 900+ page bricks!) 🙂 We just do what we can. As others have stated, it should be enjoyable. Personally, unhooking the TV is, in my humble opinion, one of the best things you can do for yourself. Don’t miss it over these past 15 years! We’re just all evolving… 🙂 I can’t begin to express to you the joy I’ve had reading the Green Gables series, and all because of you! Thank you!!

  5. The Paperback Princess says:

    Huge relief getting to the end of the post that you’re sticking with it! Blogging is supposed to be fun, especially when it’s about something that you love. If it starts to not be fun, that’s a problem. Definitely cut yourself some slack though – we will all be here if you decide you need a break! Happens to us all. I’ve loved reading your blog and I owe you a lot in terms of my own! And thanks to you I’ve had a reason to get to re-read the Anne books. Basically, you’re the best and I’d be so sad to stop getting to read your blog! But it’s up to you in the end.

  6. Steph says:

    Lindsey, I could’ve written this post myself. I started for the same reasons, and I’ve not killed Bella’s Bookshelves for the same reasons, even though more work and less time to read and write reviews (it takes a long time for me) has made it difficult to post more often. I’m glad you’ve decided not to let the stress and pressure get to you—that you feel comfortable deciding that you will blog just when you can, as I decided. It may not be as often, or even often, but you are still here, and your true readers, like me, won’t leave you. You’re such a wonderful and passionate advocate for books; we would miss you. Thank you for deciding to stay. xoxo

  7. Chelsey says:

    Your online presence has been monumental to my own love for books and publishing, so I’m so happy to hear that you are hanging in there with the blog. I don’t think there is any problem taking time off when needed. I honestly don’t blog unless I have something to say, and sometimes I blog about how I have nothing to say. Sometimes there are 6 posts in a month, sometimes none. Of all the things that stress me out, blogging isn’t one of them because I do it for fun. I hope you feel less stressed going forward :).

Leave a Reply

