I Saw Fifty Shades of Grey. It was…um, well…

Back in 2011, I remember receiving an email that announced that we had three books dropping-into our spring season. Those three books were,

Fifty Shades of Grey
Fifty Shades Darker
Fifty Shades of Freed

Fifty-Gray-posterWhat happened next was unprecedented territory for us book people. These three books become a viral sensation and everyone and anyone wanted to be a part of the phenomenon that was Fifty Shades of Grey. Then Universal bought the movie rights and every one thought, how the hell are they going to translate that saucy plot into a movie for the big screen!? Well low and behold, they’ve done it and here’s the kicker, it was kind of awesome.

FULL DISCLOSURE: This book series was not my favourite book and it wasn’t one that I raved about to family and friends. I appreciated the fact that it got people reading and rediscovering books, but the books just weren’t my cup of tea.

Here’s what I expected to see when I walked into the movie theatre tonight:

  • Corny and cheesy lines that weren’t going to be well delivered, but would manage to make everyone chuckle.
  • Sex scenes that were built up by the media with no real delivery.
  • A movie that I’d likely never watch again, but would allow me to say, “oh yeah, I’ve seen the movie”

Here’s what I did see when I walked into the movie theatre tonight:

Well, um, how do I, it’s um… Let’s just say that I was pleasantly surprised by how well they portrayed the theme of the book on the big screen. The sex scenes were executed in a really sexy way that had people wishing they weren’t sitting next to strangers. The chemistry between Jamie Dornan and Dakota Johnson was H-O-T and although, I would have given my right arm to have seen Charlie Hunnam up on that big screen, Jamie Dornan masterfully pulled off the mysterious and perplexing role of Christian Grey. Of course, there were corny lines that had the crowd outwardly laughing at the foolishness of the sentence, but really, that was to be expected when you bought your ticket.  Kelly Marcel, the screenplay writer, managed to find a way to weave some of the bizarre sentences and ideas into the screenplay that not only kept to the vision of the book, but also appealed to the naysayers. You can tell that she had fun with it and so did Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan. If you’re walking into the movie expecting it to win an Academy Award, you’re in the wrong film. If you’re walking into this movie to mock it and laugh at it, you’ll be put in your place. My advice would be to just go in with an open mind,  check your cynicism at the door and appreciate this film for what it is. A sexy, sultry love story that everyone is going to be talking about for the next few months.

In the next thirty or so minutes, this movie is going to be open in all theatres and I really do think you’re all going to love it. Go watch it, then maybe come back here and tell me what you think. OR don’t. Maybe we’re all just sharing too much information with one another. Do what you need to do. But just see it, it really is worth the $12.50 admission price.

One thought on “I Saw Fifty Shades of Grey. It was…um, well…

Leave a Reply

