I’m Kicking My Reading Goals to Another Level in 2015

Reading Goals-2

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

In 2014, I read more books than I’ve ever read before and I think it’s because I set reading goals at the end of last year. I still can’t believe I finally read all the Harry Potter books (see this post), I documented my full year on YouTube and although I didn’t read 10 short stories, I did read all the Giller Prize Shortlist. So all in all, I’d say I had a successful reading year! This year, I’m going to do the same thing and list three goals that I hope to achieve by the end of 2015.

Reading ChallengeREADING GOAL #1 Pop Sugar has created something called the 2015 Ultimate Reading Challenge. Here’s the blurb from their website,

From a book your mom loves to a book with a love triangle, we’re giving you a wide range of reads, spanning eras and genres, instead of specific books. You don’t have to read all 50 books (technically 52, since one is a trilogy), but it’s a fun incentive to diversify your reading — you may be surprised by what you find you enjoy!

I love the idea of diversifying my reading and having a working reading goal, so here goes nothing friends. I’ve got a working list of subjects and I have no doubt that I’ll be able to use the Ultimate Reading Challenge as my guiding light. You can do the same by printing this handy printable version.

READING GOAL #2 When I was thinking of what goals to work on this year, I stumbled upon my pal Jenn’s blog post about her book blogging goals and it got me thinking. Maybe I should make one of my goals about blogging. I absolutely love blogging and the reason I started doing it was to connect with the book community. And now that the community has expanded, I find myself getting overwhelmed by it. I use to visit blogs regularly for book suggestions and to hear what others were saying about the books that I  loved reading. Now, I frequent them every once in awhile (maybe once or twice a month)and I IMG_8679hardly ever communicate with new bloggers. That’s why my reading goal number two is to get back in the book blogging game. My hope and goal is to connect with all of you. The people that visit this blog and the community as a whole. Whether that means joining groups, online chats or forums, I want to reconnect with everyone and rediscover why I chose to start book blogging in the first place.

I know that one of the requirements to do this is to not only visit more blogs, but to create new and fresh content on my own blog. Which I guess brings me to my second tier of this goal, which is to become a better book blogger. I blogged frequently in 2014, but not nearly as much as I’d like, which is odd, because I’ve really started enjoying writing. Writing for me has become somewhat cathartic over the years. It not only helps me to break down my thoughts on why I did or didn’t love a book, but it’s an avenue that opens up a discussion about books. That’s why I got into blogging. I wanted to talk about books all day and when I started this blog back in 2010, I didn’t know many people here in Toronto, let alone the book community. Now that I’ve been at this for a few years and I find myself talking about books in person with lots of people, my blog has taken the hit and that’s something I’d like to see change. NOW all that being said, I’ve finally created a blog calendar, I’ve come up with post ideas and I’ve already written six of the posts that are set to go live in the month of January. There’s no real science on how I intend to measure this goal, I just want to reconnect with that feeling of loving to blog! If at the end of the year, I feel more connected with the ideas, thoughts and discussions I’m a part of, then I’ll feel as if I’ve accomplished this goal.

READING GOAL #3 As I noted in the introduction to this post, I spent the first half of 2014 reading the Harry Potter series and when I finished reading the series, it felt like such an accomplishment. This year, I wanted to be a part of another series challenge, but I haven’t found one that piqued my interest until today when I got chatting with fellow book blogger, Lost in A Great Book. She mentioned that one of her goals would be to read the entire Anne of Green Gables series and then I thought, that’s it. That’s what I want to read… again. I LOVED the Anne of Green Gables series so why wouldn’t I reread it, especially since I’m now the proud new owner of this beautiful collection from Tundra Books!

anne-of-green-gables-paperbacks

That’s why I’m starting an Anne of Green Gables Reading Challenge for all to join, just like Just A ‘Lil Lost did for the HP series. The plan will be to read one book to read each month starting in January and ending in August, which means that if you’re following along, we’ll be reading  the following books in the corresponding months:

  • January 2015 — Anne of Green Gables
  • February 2015 — Anne of Avonlea
  • March 2015 — Anne of the Island
  • April 2015 — Anne of Windy Poplars
  • May 2015 —  Anne’s House of Dreams
  • June 2015 — Anne of Ingleside
  • July 2015 — Rainbow Valley
  • August 2015 — Rilla of Ingleside

If you want to join me in my Green Gables Readalong, you can join the fun by commenting below and be sure to use the hashtag #GreenGablesReadalong on all your social media channels. I’ll be sure to monitor it and ensure that everyone is connecting with one another. I’d also encourage you to leave a comment below and let me know that you’re participating in the challenge.

I’d love to hear your 2015 Reading Goals! Be sure to leave a comment and I’ll be sure to respond. 

37 thoughts on “I’m Kicking My Reading Goals to Another Level in 2015

  1. Melissa says:

    You know I have never read an Anne of Green Gables book, shocking I know considering how in love with the movie series I was as a child, so alongside you I will also make reading the series my 2015 goal squeezing it in with becoming a new mom 🙂

  2. Carole Besharah says:

    I am sooooooo joining you for this readalong! I JUST finished rereading the first book in the series with my 11-year-old daughter. We laughed and cried. So, I guess I already have a head start (which is great, because I am about to start my final college term… the next four months with be super busy).

    This will be so much fun.

    Also… I have fallen madly in love with the artwork featured on the new book covers by paper artist http://www.ellymackay.com/. The Emily Starr series is also gorgeous. I gave that one to my daughter for Xmas.

    Thanks for the invite!

  3. Michele | Just a Lil Lost says:

    Great goals!! I feel the same as you about becoming overwhelmed with all the new blogs out there now.. so I don’t get a chance to visit all the ones to read as much as I used to. and I LOVE that first 2015 reading challenge thing.. I’ll have to check that out and see what they have on the list to diversify.. ANNND I actually have never read the Anne of Green Gables books.. lol.. so if I manage to get myself organized enough, I may join you for this readalong 🙂

    • LR says:

      Thanks Michele! I hope you do join us in the readalong. You were my inspiration for doing as I had such a fun time reading the Harry Potter collection last year!

  4. chowmeyow says:

    Really excellent goals! I have similar blogging goals in 2015 – I cleaned and organized my feed reader, so that keeping up with & commenting on my favorite book blogs will no longer be as daunting. I also abandoned my monthly reading recaps a few years ago, and have been just posting sporadic and infrequent individual book reviews. Those recaps were some of my most popular posts, and I’d like to bring them back for 2015.

    I re-read the entire Anne series in 2013 and 2014 (well – re-read the first few, and read the last few, I realized I had never finished the series), and it was such a lovely experience. I absolutely love these books, and re-reading them was a complete delight. Anne’s House of Dreams ended up being my favorite of the later books. I’m sure you will enjoy your re-read very much!

    Cheers to a great 2015!

    • LR says:

      Thanks for your comment and I think it’s great news that you’re thinking about bringing back your monthly reading recaps. It’s SO much work, but it’s worth it and creates so much book chatter AND who doesn’t love book chatter!?

  5. Kailana says:

    I tried to read all of LM Montgomery in 2014 and it didn’t happen… Just a hectic year with slow reading results… Maybe rereading Anne is more manageable!

  6. Naomi says:

    Reading Anne is such a good idea! Lately I’ve been feeling jealous of anyone reading it, so that must be a sign that it is time to reread. Count me in! 🙂

  7. Sarah Emsley says:

    I really enjoyed reading your posts about the books shortlisted for the Giller — thank you for those especially. That’s when I discovered your blog.

    I’ve always loved the Anne books and I think Elly MacKay’s new covers for the novels are beautiful. I reread the first three books recently (I’m particularly interested in the way Montgomery talks about Kingsport/Halifax in Anne of the Island) and I’ve been meaning to continue with the others, so I’ll try to join in. What a great idea to read them all this year. Happy 2015!

    • LR says:

      What a lovely not to have received Sarah. I’m so glad that you enjoyed reading my posts on the Giller shortlist. They were a lot of fun to do. I THINK I might do the same for the Canada Reads list, but I’m not sure yet. That feels like a big commitment right now.

      I’m so glad you’ll be joining in the Green Gables Readalong! I think it’s going to be great fun and a great way for everyone to connect over the red haired girl we all love and know so well!

  8. Christa says:

    Great goals! I’d love to join you for the Green Gables redialing if I can. At the very least I’ll try and squeeze in one or two. I wonder if there are good audiobooks of them…

  9. The Paperback Princess says:

    So excited to hear that you plan to come back to us online! I love reading your blog so I’m very much looking forward to reading more of what you have to say. I’m SO JEALOUS of your beautiful new Anne of Green Gables collection. I desperately want those (or the hardcover versions). I’ve been wanting to reread this series for a while so I might join you on this one! I also re-read HP last year so we’re really in sync on this.

    Happy 2015 and thanks for all you did in 2014 to bring my blog to the next level!

    • LR says:

      I’d love it if you joined Eva 🙂 and thank YOU for being such an avid reader of my blog and introducing me to so many great books in 2014! Here’s to a book filled 2015!!!

  10. Iphios says:

    I love how focused the goals are. That popsugar reading challenge does seem interested, but too daunting for me to take on this year. I’m doing a “read harder” challenge this 2015. As to the Anne series, such as lovely lovely goal. I have read this series years ago and a long time ago, but I love the idea of one book a month. I might consider this or apply the same idea to another series.

    I’m definitely looking forward to your blogging as I’m a fairly new follower. 🙂

  11. Chelsey says:

    These are amazing goals! I love the PopSugar list as well. I need to get back in the blogging game myself.. I’ve really sucked with commenting lately. Gah.
    Best of luck in 2015 :)! I will, of course, always be reading your posts!

  12. Lynn says:

    I just realized in reading this post, I’ve never actually read any of the Anne books. I really should, especially with grandchildren who will be reading them soon enough! So…I will try to follow along with one Anne book per month, though I may miss a few! 🙂 So glad you read HP! I’ve read that whole series 3 times now and…really, if I had the time, would read them again right now! I love it!! I am trying to make myself create a blog post for each and every book I read, but it takes away from my reading time!
    LOL Glad I discovered your blog from Naomi!

  13. BookerTalk says:

    Good luck with all those goals – I think I had something similar a few years ago to your goal about connecting more with bloggers. It became one of the most enjoyable aspects of blogging which otherwise can be a fairly solitary experience.

  14. M | BACKLIST BOOKS says:

    OMG I am so tempted to embark on an epic Anne marathon! I read about the first 5 or 6 books I think. I don’t have them anymore though… maybe if I can track down some used copies I’ll join in! I’m doing the PopSugar challenge too – such fun! I know what you mean about being overwhelmed by the blogs out there. I have so much trouble keeping up! I want to visit y’all every week, but I rarely do. I find that book blogging is particularly time-consuming, because on top of the time spent actually blogging, there’s the time spend reading so there will be something to blog about! Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t have it any other way, but when you add social media on top of that and you’ve got a full-time job, a 2 hour commute and still want a social life, sometimes commenting falls by the wayside. I’m trying to do a better job of stopping by my favourite blogs this year, but man, it’s hard! (Speaking of which – is there any way to subscribe to your blog by email? I find it so much easier to keep up when blog posts land in my inbox!!) I wish you the best of luck with your goals – they’re great ones!

      • mlevnc says:

        I am! I haven’t posted about it yet on my blog, but I’ll probably schedule a post to go up while I’m on vacation. I ordered the full set (I think the same one you have!) so I might end up being a bit behind on the first month’s reading, but should catch up by February! I’d love to be added to your email list (backlistbook@gmail.com). Also I’m not sure if you added me to your blog as an email follower, but if you did, THANK YOU!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

