Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon 2014 – Reeder’s Progress Report

dewey-1024x1024

*Hourly Report Below*

Twice a year, the book community comes together to participate in the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon. In the past, there’s always been something going on and I’m not able to actually sit down and spend the whole day reading, but that’s not the case today. I had put the readathon in my calendar awhile back and made sure not to make any plans on this date so I could finally tear through that large reading pile I’ve accumulated in the last couple of months.

As a self proclaimed type A personality, I shockingly have not planned which books I want to read first. I’m still working at reading the Giller Shortlist, the three books I have left to read are:

That being said, I might just stick to my pile of “I’ve been dying to read these books” that includes:

If there’s one thing I know for sure it’s that I do not have a problem finding books to read in 24 hours. So I’ve got the coffee brewing, I am a little late to start, but in my defence, I had a really rough night of sleeping. I’ve also got some yummy goodies lined up, so now it’s just time to get reading. My hope is to update this post… hourly (maybe?) with my progress. I will be starting two hours behind, starting at hour 3 (10amET). Stay tuned and be sure to wish me luck!

Hour 1 – N/A

Hour 2 – N/A

Hour 3 – I spent hour three sipping on two cups of coffee, putting in a load of laundry and starting an advanced reading copy of All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. In a conference meeting earlier this summer, our kids and teen sales rep sold me on this YA novel by comparing it to The Fault in the Stars meets Eleanor and Park. She also shared with us that this book (without evening being published yet) is being made into a film starring Elle Fanning. I’ve read 80 pages so far and I’m hooked. There’s nothing better than indulging with some gourmet peanut butter (thanks Monkey Butter) and a good and gripping read. Okay… I’m off to keep reading!

Hour 4 – “I reach one hand throughout the opening and pick up another brook and then another. What if life could be this way? Only the happy parts, none of the terrible, not even the mildly unpleasant. What if we could just cut out the bad and keep the good?” ~ Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places.

Hour 5 – Ate lunch and continued reading.

Hour 6 – Spent finishing this book that will be the “IT” book come January 2015. Also I’m pretty proud of myself for having read 378 pages in three hours…

IMG_7442When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Hour 7 – I brought my book and laptop to my nearest Starbucks for a change of scenery. Sadly, spending 20+ minutes trying to get connected to the internet wasn’t my idea of fun, so I scrapped that idea and have been spending the rest of the hour reading. My new read is Rachel Joyce’s much anticipated new novel, The Love Song of Queenie Hennessy. I’m about sixty pages in and it’s every bit as good as everyone said it would be…IMG_7444.JPG

Hour 8 – I am well into The Love Song of Queenie Hennessy and I’m in love. It’s so lovely and heartwarming, which is perfect for a cold fall afternoon. I think I’ll be taking a break in a bit because I’m a bit exhausted.

UPDATE…. 2 Days Later

So I fell off the reading wagon halfway past hour 8 and I think I know why. Of course, the point of a readathon is to have fun and just read, which of course what I was trying to do. But I think because I tried to update my post on our hourly basis, by the time I’d updated my reading process on my blog, it would be quarter past the hour. This made me feel like I was always short for time and took away a bit of the fun of reading. I kept trying to “catch up” and sometimes I wound up getting distracted by social media or just the internet in general. I think I lost the main point of what I was trying to do, which was to just spend 24 hours reading. I’m still not disappointed with how I did though, I managed to read All the Bright Things, which I’ve been meaning to read and I also got a got through The Love Song of Queenie Hennessy (finishing it up Sunday afternoon). So to the future me…  the next time you sign up to do a 24 hour readathon, spend less time typing and more time reading!

14 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon 2014 – Reeder’s Progress Report

  1. Dana says:

    I am too old to stay away for 24 straight hours so I know that I’ll be napping. I am like you, no stress about not reading the whole 24 hours. That being said, I am looking forward to 24 hours of nothing but me and books! 🙂 Happy reading!

  2. kmn04books says:

    Ooh, have fun with this readathon! I have other things to do today so I won’t be able to participate but I’ll be cheering you all on! I can’t wait to hear what you think of Shopaholic to the Stars – I loved it! Also: puffy cheesies or crunchy cheesies?

  3. CaroG says:

    I’ve seen a lot of people reading S. Kinsella, I have to continue that series soon. Hope you are having a great time!!! #TeamKing

  4. buriedinprint says:

    Better a late start than no read-a-thon! I still have two books from the Giller list to read too, but I decided to try something different this RAT and just pick random books, not necessarily anything from my TBR or lists for various reading projects. So far, I like this. Happy read-a-thon-ing to you!

  5. The Paperback Princess says:

    I’ve never actually participated in a read-a-thon and I’m not doing it today but I’m enjoying reading everyone’s updates! I don’t make a habit of reading YA but your description of All the Bright Places intrigues me. If I don’t read it I have an 18 year old bookworm sister that I can tell will love this. I’m also glad to hear that you are in love with Queenie Hennessey! I have that one in the pile and I’m excited to read it. Harold Fry was one of those unexpectedly heartwarming and lovely books. Good luck with the rest of the read-a-thon!

  6. Anna says:

    I’m glad you finally got to spend the day with us. I didn’t plan my books this time and I’m stuck. I don’t know what I want to read next. I have so many to choose from. I wish I would have made a small pile last night. I hope you enjoy the rest of your reading.

Leave a Reply

