6 Days of Giller Prize Shortlist Reading

giller-logo-20111_0

Today the Giller Prize Shortlist was announced and since I was sick, I lay in bed hitting refresh and watched as the book community was waiting with baited breath for the CanLit announcement. When the list was finally announced, it was exciting to see that for the first time in a really long time, the list is split 50/50 between two major publishers, Random House of Canada and HarperCollins Canada. The books nominated were:

  • Frances Itani, Tell (HarperCollins Canada)

The lack of small publishers was a bit surprising, but since the longlist was announced, we’ve come to expect some curveballs thrown our way this year. It was previously announced that founder Jack Rabinovitch, had increased the prize to $150,000, the winner will receive $100,000 and the runners up will receive $10,000. It was also exciting to see a sixth book added to the shortlist this morning. We’re all so use to only seeing five titles on the list each year, so it was wonderful to see an additional candidate in the running.

This year, like every year, I’m taking on the challenge of reading all six books. But unlike other years, this year I’m actually going to follow through and read and report my thoughts on all six books. What better way to make a commitment than to put it in writing, right? So, I’m declaring October 26 – October 31st, Reeder’s 6 Days of Giller Prize Shortlist Reading. Be sure to tune in to read a review of each book and hear what I think of each book on the shortlist this year. Here are books I’ll be chatting about on each date.

Please Note: You are more than welcome to join along by posting your thoughts and reactions on the corresponding dates too if you’re interested in reading with me!

October 26 October 27 October 28 October 29 October 30 October 31

 

The Scotiabank Giller Prize Winner will be announced on CBC Television on Monday, Nov. 10 at 9 p.m. (9:30 NT) with host Jian Ghomeshi of CBC Radio’s Q.

6 thoughts on “6 Days of Giller Prize Shortlist Reading

  1. kmn04books says:

    This is such a great idea! I always tell myself that I’ll read shortlisted books and then never do it. This will help me stay accountable! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on these reads!

  2. Carole Besharah says:

    Yay! Looking forward to Reeder’s 6 Days of Giller Prize Shortlist Reading. Reading The Girl Who Have Saturday Night at the moment. It’s making my French-Canadian heart hurt. Just for fun, how many shortlisted book have you read already?

    Also, I loved Frances Itani’s Deafening, so that one is probably next on my list.

    Happy reading!
    Carole

  3. writereads says:

    Such an awesome idea. I’m excited to hear what you think of them all and which one you would pick for the winner. I am bad for reading shortlists, I barely ever make it through them all, so it’s nice when someone does it for me 🙂 -Tania

Leave a Reply

