The Story of my First Autographed Books

I’ve tried writing this sentence six different ways, but I’m just going to come right out and say it and hope it doesn’t sound too selfish, I get a lot of books signed by authors. It’s one of the many perks that I adore about my career, but it wasn’t always that way. As a kid, I’d see my Mom at signings and she’d come home with all these signed books… I specifically remember her having signed books by Lorrie Moore, Jackie Chan and Anne Perry. I remember being so jealous that she got to have shelves filled with books that said her name, with a personal message and a fun, encouraging sign off.

The other day, I got a new book signed by an author and I brought it home to add it to my collection and there I saw two books that I’ve yet to read, but that I’ve owned for twenty-nine years. These two books were never hand-me-down books, they have always been my books and I’ve moved them to every dorm room and every apartment I’ve ever lived in over the years. I will continue to carry them with me over the years, because they have some serious sentimental value. These two books were the first two books I ever had addressed to me and signed by an author,

photo

Both of these books are written by Welwyn Wilton Katz, an author my Aunt met in London, Ontario and kindly had sign copies for my one-year-old self. The first book, Witchery Hill, was written in 1984 and reads,

For A Young Reeder,

Whom I hope to meet in person, and talk to, when you are old enough to enjoy this book-

Best wishes, Welwyn Wilton Katz

The second book, Sun God, Moon Witch, written in 1986 reads,

To A Charming Reeder,

Welwyn Wilton Katz

And in all these years, I’ve yet to read either book, which might just be the saddest thing in the whole wide world. When I decided to write this post, I thought long and hard as to why I hadn’t read either book after all these years. I could use an excuse that the cover of Witchery Hill legitimately scared me, truth be told, it still does. But I don’t think that’s a good enough excuse. Maybe it’s because they’ve always been a part of my bookshelf and by the time I started to read chapter books, I’d grab for the latest Babysitter’s Club and/or a Sweet Valley University, rather than books that had been sitting on my shelf for years.

I did some research on the author and she was still writing young adult fiction up until 1999. She’s even on Twitter! So I’ve decided that I’m going to do two things:

1. Actually read my first two autographed books… Finally!
2. Hopefully, meet with the author and chat about her books and share the experience with you on my blog.

Lucky for me, I’m heading to London this Easter weekend to spend the long weekend with my family, so I’ll get the chance to chat with my Aunt and see if she remembers when and how she got these books signed for me all those years ago.

In the meantime, I would love it if you shared with me in the comments how you got your first autographed book!

*I also want to encourage you to check out my Aunt’s website, http://www.workstory.net. A great site filled with people’s stories about how they got their start in their careers and what they do each day in their job. You never know, you might see yours truly.  

6 thoughts on “The Story of my First Autographed Books

  1. Lost in a Great Book says:

    Oh, I can’t wait to see what happens – I hope that you do managed to meet with Welwyn Wilton Katz!
    My very first signed book was also a gift – The Magical Miss Mittens. I still have my copy as well, although mine remains at my mother’s house, under strict instructions that it is never to be donated. All of my nieces have read this book at some time or another, and it’s my version of a family heirloom!

  2. Natalie @ Browsing Bookshelves says:

    What a great post!! I think it would be so cool if you finally had a chance to read them both and actually meet the author (especially considering the inscription she left you in the first book!).

    My very first signed book was Mama’s Going to Buy You A Mockingbird by Jean Little!

  3. kmn04books says:

    I love the messages she wrote! You really do have the perfect last name for a book lover. I don’t have any books signed books that are personalized but I hope I will someday! I can’t wait to hear how your story with the author unfolds 🙂

  4. Court says:

    I hope you enjoy these! I’ve read a few of Welwyn Wilton Katz books before, and they’ve always been fun reads. 🙂 Looking forward to hear updates from you on whether you meet the author and what you think of the books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

