[Book Review] I Don’t Know What You Know Me From by Judy Greer

Remember Jennifer Garner in 13 Going on 30? That ‘Thriller’ scene was epic.

Oh and Katherine Heigl in 27 Dresses? I’m humming Bennie and the Jets right now.

And what about Jennifer Lopez in The Wedding Planner? I always think of this movie when I eat brown M&M’s

Judy GreerNow… do you know what all these movies have in common? Besides the fact that they’re all romantic comedies. They all feature Judy Greer as the loveable, yet quirky BFF role! Judy Greer has honed her skills at playing the role of the co-star and she knows it. It only made sense that she’ write a memoir and call it, I Don’t Know What You Know Me From: Confessions from a Co-Star

Now here’s what you might not know about me… I own a lot of, what some would call “girly movies”, the only action and suspense movie I own is Speed and that’s pushing it. I’ll be honest and say I bought it because of Keanu Reeves voice. It’s safe to say that I’ve seen Judy Greer pop up in a lot of rom-com’s that star a lead actress that meets the man of her dreams, falls in love, oh no… dilemma, Judy Greer enters with some hilarious, yet wise insight and all is right in the end. So even though some might not recognize her right away or may not recognize her name, this chick flick enthusiast knew exactly who she was. For those in the hipper crowd, you might recognize her as Kitty Sanchez from Arrested Development. Please note: I only say the hipper people will get it, because I never got the whole Arrested Development phenomenon and I’m not cool enough to pretend I did.

When I heard last year that Random House would be publishing her memoir, I was so excited to get my hands on it. I feed on pop culture and I sometimes like to refer to myself as a human IMDB, so I couldn’t wait to hear what Judy Greer’s life was like and what it was like to play the best friend role in so many blockbusters. In I Don’t Know What You Know Me From, I got all that and more.

Judy takes us back to her early days of bad hair and really bad hair (no judgement… I could haul out some pictures that would have you laughing out loud), to a time when she had aspirations to make it in Hollywood. With her parents support and a license plate that literally read “star 2 be”, she notes that in reality, it should have read “co-star 2 be”, she packed her bags and headed to the big city. The memoir is a collection of essays filled with stories, insight and advice that makes you feel like you’re hearing stories and getting tips from a best friend. And as noted above, she plays that best friend role oh so well.

Filled with hilarious antidotes of making it, sharing random texts she found on her phone,

I’ve decided I really want a tee-pee.

to an essay titled, “Ashton Kutcher Gave My Dad a Harley”, I laughed out loud the entire time. Oh and wait until you read about her experience going to the Oscars… all I can say is that poor, poor woman. She has a way of making the glamour of the Hollywood life seem honest, some might even say normal. My Best Friends don’t live in close proximity, but I can honestly say that for approximately two and a half hours of reading, Judy Greer was a great stand in!

Now for the really cool part:

Image

Yesterday, I got the opportunity to meet Judy Greer! Not only was she incredibly nice and might I add, impeccably dressed, but she was really excited to be in Toronto and happy to hear that people were enjoying her book. If you’re someone who’s a movie or TV buff, chances are, Judy Greer has had a role in one of your favourite movies or television shows and you’re sure to thoroughly enjoy I Don’t Know What You Know Me From

If you’re chatting about the book online, be sure to tag Judy Greer at @missjudygreer and use the hashtag #IDontKnowWhatYouKnowMeFrom

 

10 thoughts on “[Book Review] I Don’t Know What You Know Me From by Judy Greer

  1. Kaley @ Books Etc says:

    I need this book in my life! I was so excited when I saw she was going to be writing a book! I love her as the awesome BFF in all of those movies. Also, we have very similar pop culture and movie tastes. I am not hip either. Cheers to that 🙂 Glad this was such an awesome book!

  2. Cathy746books says:

    I love her! She’s one of those adtors you just know is going to be totally watchable no matter what movie she is in. How cool that you got to meet her (and how cute does she look?!)

  3. tanya (52 books or bust) says:

    The first time i saw this book I thought ‘it’s Kitty Sanchez!’, so yeah, I guess I am pretty hip (ha ha). I’m glad this book is all it’s cracked up to be. She is one of those people who probably has some really great stories to tell.

  4. Allison (Allure of Books) says:

    I enjoyed this too! I liked how her sense of humor came through exactly like I’d picture her to be in real life. She didn’t try too hard or go overboard with the jokes, she sounded like an actual person and not someone trying to be a comedian. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

