Why I Prefer Reading in Coffee Shops than in my Home

IMG_3357Recently, I discovered a new app called Coffitivity and it’s purpose is to provide the background noise of coffee shops. Here is the description of the app from their website,

Research shows that it’s hard to be creative in a quiet space. With the mix of calm and commotion in an environment like a coffee house is proven to be just what you need to get those creative juices flowing. Source

In recent years, I’ve fallen in love with my local coffee shop, I’ve gotten to know the names of the baristas and I can count on seeing familiar faces every time I visit. So in no way am I discouraging you to try and Coffitivity, because I think their theory is correct, but I just don’t know if I’d be able to give up the actual experience of visiting a coffee shop and here’s why:

Atmosphere – There really is something to be said for the smells, noises and people that sit among you in a coffee shop. I have one chair that I always like to sit in when I get to my local establishment that not only allows me to  have the sun shine in on me while I read or write, but it also gives me a great view of the happenings around me. This past Monday, I had the day off, so I sat in my favourite chair and read for two hours, while I listened to:

  • Jazz Music
  • A man clearing his throat
  • Blender
  • Water running
  • Typing
  • Register beeping
  • A man booking appointments to go visit apartments around the city

Somehow all these noises and conversations become a comfort or maybe, even an escape for me. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I genuinely enjoy the environment I get to experience for the cost of one cup of coffee.

Less Distractions – Some might say that the noises and conversations that I just listed above would be a huge distraction when it comes to reading in a coffee shop, but I’m going to disagree and here’s why. When I’m at home, I get distracted by everything. My iPhone, Twitter, food, chores, etc… It’s bad. I’m actually writing this at home right now and I’ve already been distracted by a phone call, two tweets and the urge to make yet another cup of coffee. I actually listened to a podcast earlier that said the best way to stay focused when writing is to shut off your internet, but that seems like a lot of work… well it does to me anyway. When I take the time to pack a book, a notebook, a pen and walk the 10 minutes to my coffee shop, I’m in a sense, shutting off my world at home. I’ve made the effort to step away and have some QT with myself and my book. Experienced readers will also know how to shut of the distractions and noises happening in the shop and focus on their reading. It’s a real art, I tell ya.

Creativity – I think that Coffitivity is onto something, because I’ve come up with and written some of my best posts in Starbucks. I think the same theory about leaving my home applies in this case. If I’ve made the decision to go to an establishment to read or work on a post, then I’m more likely to focus my energy and do what I intended to do. When I’m in my home, I’m just not going to do it. Well, that’s wrong. Of course, I’m able to read and write at home, but it doesn’t feel nearly as productive as when I do it at the coffee establishment. I focus better, I think better and I’m also inspired by all the people around me who are all there to do the same thing.

I give two thumbs up to Coffitivity for thinking outside the box and creating an app that gives you the ambience of a coffee shop, but I’ll be continuing to do the majority of my reading in that big, comfy, leather chair that I didn’t purchase with a man beside me in sweatpants, it’s much more enjoyable!

2 thoughts on “Why I Prefer Reading in Coffee Shops than in my Home

  1. Kailana says:

    Oh, cool! I put on background noise because the guy listens to the television SO LOUD. It’s a bit weird that I have to block out background noises with other background noises. haha. I am going to see about this app. 🙂

Leave a Reply

