Netflix is Interfering with My Reading Pile

netflix-580x387

Okay, I know… excuses, excuses. But Netflix really is messing with my reading. Because I work in publishing, I spend all day talking about books and going over in my head (for about 8 hours), which ones I’d like to read that evening. This usually means that I head home, on average, with at least three books each day. My intentions are always good when it comes to this pile of books I’ve been accumulating, but here’s what happens when I get home.

LINDSEY

(enters home, drops bag of books on couch)

Hmm… I wonder what I should make for dinner tonight.

(scratches head)

A stir fry would be nice.

(Starts pulling veggies out of fridge)

I should watch an episode of ‘The Good Wife’ while I cut these fresh veggies.

(Loses entire evening needing to know if Alicia & Will will end up together)

Woah, it’s 10:30pm, what the heck!? I’ll just read tomorrow.

SCENE

The next night rolls around and the same scenario plays out. Now many of you are probably saying to yourselves, “Nope – if I got new books all the time, I wouldn’t let anything get in the way of those pages and my eyes”, but you’re wrong. Because you will get some notification telling you that Orange is the New Black (watch a promo here) is premiering on June 6th or they’ll make a ‘Suggestion Just For You’. You’re right Netflix, I do want to rewatch Coyote Ugly. This has become a real problem.

I’m not even going to make an unrealistic goal and say that I won’t open that lovely little red app on my iPad for two weeks, because I don’t know if I’m actually capable of functioning without watching “just one more” episode of Drop Dead Diva.

As I’m reading this post back (scanning for spelling errors), I can’t help but be a bit embarrassed by my first world problem dilemma, but I  need to know I’m not the only one that gets distracted by life because of Netflix. Write me, tweet me, tell me I’m not alone, so I don’t feel so damn guilty every time I look at that never ending reading pile.

Signing off to go prep my dinner, then I’m going to read. I promise.

Reeder Signature

5 thoughts on “Netflix is Interfering with My Reading Pile

  1. Kaley @ Books Etc says:

    I totally get where you’re coming from. I’m not working and have a ton of free time…which I spend watching Netflix. “Just one more episode” never works well with me. Our player started going wonky and we haven’t yet fixed it (it kept pausing…sort of like it was buffering) but now the Olympics are taking over! It’s so hard to make time for reading when it seems like so many other people are talking about tv shows and movies! I hope you got some reading done today 🙂

  2. Angel says:

    I do not have Netflix, but I do get TV show recs regularly from friends, so I start and lose so much reading time. Like Nikita–I marathoned an entire season over three days during Christmas break. But I think I’m getting better now, and I hope you’re finding the right kind of balance for you too! (P.S. You should definitely try Nikita.)

  3. Michele | Just a Lil Lost says:

    YES!! This has happened as recently as this evening.. when I have a PILE of books I need to read and finish imminently but what did I do? Decide to finally start watching Downton Abbey on Netflix (and find a dozen other shows/movies I want to watch). I feel your love/hate pain…

  4. Lost in a Great Book says:

    All I’m going to say is that I am on season six of Psych. I have at least seven books looking at me waiting for a review, all I want to type out are the lyrics to the theme song. I think we may need a support group.

  5. EnterTAYned says:

    I would say it’s the same for me. As a bookseller I am lucky enough to get ARC’s or free books (not three a day but still lots of them) and as a reader you think “Wow! How great it would be to have unlimited books” and it is. It truly is. But I often find myself distracted by tv. I have decided on my part that it is shear laziness. And that is sad since it doesn’t take a lot of effort to read.

Leave a Reply

