Do YOU know the name of this book? If you do, you’ll be solving a 20 year mystery.

There are a couple of books that stand out from my childhood; The Night Before ChristmasAre You There God? It’s Me, Margaret, a beautiful book by the name of Chestnuts for the Brave. But back when I was in the third grade, my teacher Mrs. Chipman read our class a story about a girl who went to summer camp. Other than the fact that she went to summer camp, I have nothing else to pull out of my memory bank. I can, however, recall the feeling of loving books in that very moment.

In 1996, the Internet and the world wide web had amazing capabilities, you could type in anything into a search engine and voila, you’re answer was a click away. Now, almost 20 years later, search engines have advanced beyond our reach and we now each carry a computer around in our pockets, so why is it that I still can’t figure out what this silly book is named!

That’s why I’ve decided to draw you the cover image that has been taunting me for ages to see if any of you can help me solve this twenty year mystery. I’ve pulled out my coloured pencils, which I got on sale during back to school sales last year *please note, I love going back to school shopping, even though I haven’t been in school for 7 years. I came up with this:

photo-4

As you can see my drawing skills have not improved since grade 3, but you get the point.

If you can help me figure out this book’s title and author, you’ll be helping to solve a twenty year mystery and I’ll be forever grateful.

8 thoughts on “Do YOU know the name of this book? If you do, you’ll be solving a 20 year mystery.

  1. Shan says:

    I wish I could help. I don’t know the book but I totally understand your problem. I have one book from grade 7 that I just can’t remember.

  2. Lost in a Great Book says:

    Okay, I’m going to throw out some suggestions here … they may all be totally wrong, but who know???
    Yours Til Niagara Falls, Abby by Jane O’Connor
    There’s a Bat in Bunk Five by Paula Danzinger (probably not this one b/c the covers don’t fit …)
    Daring to be Abigail by Rachel Vail
    One of the Alexandra books by Constance C. Greene?

    So check out http://whatwasthatbook.livejournal.com/ as another sight to find out which book it might be…
    Oh, and for giggles? Check out this site: http://cliqueypizza.wordpress.com/2009/03/08/a-guide-to-teen-80s-teen-series-part-1-a-d/ to see some of the books I read in my early teens…
    Good luck!

  3. Pauline says:

    I hope you find out the title! I wish I could help. I know how frustrating it is when you can’t remember a certain book from your childhood. I’m impressed that you were able to remember what the cover looked like though!

Leave a Reply

