[Film Review] Gatsby? What Gatsby?

the-great-gatsby-2012Last night at 6:55pm, I settled into a 3D theatre with three of my friends to finally watch The Great Gatsby. If you’re like me, you’ve been counting down the days to see this movie. I think it was around Christmas that they started showing the trailer of Baz Luhrmann’s movie adaptation of F.Scott Fitzgerald’s great american novel that had everyone chomping at the bit to see this film.

I’ll start by saying that in order to familiarize with the book, I reread it about two weeks ago. I may have forgot how infuriating Daisy made me and I forgot that the protagonist of the novel was named Nick Carraway, but I didn’t forget how much I loved Gatsby. I loved his innocence, yet powerful disposition. When I heard that they had cast Leonardo DiCaprio in the role, I automatically knew he would do the role justice. Even during my rereading of the book, I imagined Leo as Gatsby and I knew he’d have the acting chops to pull of this role. I wasn’t as impressed with Tobey Maguire’s performance. It wasn’t that he didn’t do a good job, it just didn’t feel as memorable as other characters. Which is odd, simply because I really enjoyed Nick Carraway’s character in the novel.

The movie itself, was a somewhat accurate portrayal of the book that was written in 1925 (minus the number of Jay Z songs in the film). There were some key points missing for me that I really wanted to see shown, but I also understand that you can’t please everyone. What did impress me was Baz Luhrmann’s amazing depiction of the roaring 20’s. Flapper dresses, cheap liquor and elaborate parties were captivating on screen (especially in 3D). There was no doubt you were watching a Baz Luhrmann film (please see Romeo & Juliet and Moulin Rouge) and I think he did a fantastic job at creating the world of J. Gatsby.

It might not be getting rave reviews in the media, but it is getting one from this Gatsby lover. I’m giving it a 4/5 rating using floating Leo heads, because I clearly have too much time on my hands.

ImageImage ImageImage

 

Oh and if you’re looking for a chuckle, check out this video that shows what people think happens in The Great Gatsby.

4 thoughts on “[Film Review] Gatsby? What Gatsby?

  1. mary (@writingspinster) says:

    I wish I had seen it in 2D because the 3D was so distracting for me that I can’t tell what I thought of the film. There were moments I enjoyed, but then moments I hated with a passion. I am a Baz fan (Strictly Ballroom is one of my all time favourite films!) but I can’t help feeling that cheap tricks were used in the telling of this story. But I do confess that The Great Gatsby is a novel (or novella) that I still haven’t gotten around to reading.

    I love your floating Leo heads!!!

    Mary

  2. mary @writingspinster says:

    I wish I had seen it in 2D because the 3D was so distracting for me that I can’t tell what I thought of the film. There were moments I enjoyed, but then moments I hated with a passion. I am a Baz fan (Strictly Ballroom is one of my all time favourite films!) but I can’t help feeling that cheap tricks were used in the telling of this story. But I do confess that The Great Gatsby is a novel (or novella) that I still haven’t gotten around to reading.

    I love your floating Leo heads!!!

    Mary

Leave a Reply

