[Book Review] Just What Kind of Mother Are You? by Paula Daly

Just What Kind of Mother Are YouWhen is the last time I read a mystery novel… Never.

Okay, that’s not true, I’ve read a handful of them, but it’s not a genre I read often, mostly because I’m a wimp and I don’t like scary plot lines AND because I like having a big of an inkling knowing what might happen in the end. But in an effort to try new genres and plug away at my Reading Bingo Card, I picked up Paula Daly’s Just What Kind of Mother are You? After reading the premise, I had to read it, because it was that intriguing. I’m going to try really hard to sum it up for you, but I’m starting this post by saying you won’t know what’s going to happen on the next page and I’m guaranteeing you that you’re going to love the journey.

Like any Mother of three, Lisa is overworked, exhausted and feels as if she’s falling apart at the seams. Getting three lunches together is a major feat in the Kallisto household. With too many things on her to do list, Lisa makes a major fail when it comes to the world of parenting and in a moment of too many balls to juggle, she forgets the arranged sleepover her daughter was supposed to have with her closest friends daughter, Lucinda. When Lucinda goes missing and everyone looks at Lisa for answers, all hell breaks loose.

The reason I think I got so heavily involved in this story is because the narration throws you into the deep end on the first page. Your forced to think “what would I do in that situation” or you end up saying things like “well that would never happen on my watch.” A great story will make you ask questions, it will make you question your morals. I kept thinking about how awful Lisa would be feeling due to the circumstances and how tragic it would be for Kate, Lucinda’s Mother who obviously appears broken when Lisa sees her as soon as she’s discovered missing.

If you decide to pick up this novel, you’re opening yourself up to a story with twists and turns so consequential that it’ll have you on the edge of your seat. After reading Just What Kind of Mother Are You? I’ll definitely be picking up more books that take me out of my comfort zone.  A brilliant debut by an author that’s sure to have a lifelong career in thriller writing!

This is a read that you’re definitely not going to want to miss!

Leave a Reply

