My Reading Pile went on Vacation

PoolsideFor the last week and a half, I’ve been down in sunny Florida and in that week and a half, I’ve been reading up a storm. I’ve been doing lots of other fun vacation things too, riding roller coasters and eating chocolate covered pretzels at 2:00pm on a Wednesday afternoon. But I’ve made a point to get in lots of reading and relaxing.

I made an executive decision when packing that instead of lugging books back and forth from T.O. to FL, I’d put all the books I wanted to read on my Kindle in an effort to tackle my never ending reading pile. Of course as we all know, the convenience of putting your books on an eReader is that all of your books are in one easy and accessible location. The disadvantage is that no one can see what you’re reading and if I’ve learned anything on this vacation, it’s that people like to stop you and talk about books they’re reading.

I’ll set the scene for you. 

People come down to the poolside with their room keys, beer, sunscreen and book all strategically placed in their beach bags. They roll around their chaise lounge to ensure that they’re with their family and friends. It’s at this point, once they’re all settled, that they pull out their books ready to read away the morning and afternoon.

Now unlike me, many of my fellow vacation friends aren’t reading their books on a Kindle, Kobo or Nook. They’re reading books, good ‘ol fashion books, which for me has been a real treat, because I love checking out what others are reading.

I’m 3/4 way through my vacation, but I’ve seen some of the following books as I’ve walked by the pool.

Vacation Reading

As you can see, there’s a little bit of everything, but isn’t that the joy of vacation reading? It’s a chance for you to let your mind wander, forget about your emails and your never ending pile of paperwork and allow yourself to escape into another world. Personally, I’ve been dipping into a mixture of different genres while vacationing. I’ve read some non-fiction, a fictional family drama and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. But I have to say that the best book I’ve read all vacation is one coming out this fall that I became a little bit obsessed with, is titled, A Good Days Work by John Demont. While reading I researched and learned so many new things about jobs and careers in today’s day and age. Be sure to stay tuned for my review this September!

Now it’s back to tackling my vacation reading pile… ~Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “My Reading Pile went on Vacation

  1. Kaley Stewart (@KaleyS23) says:

    I brought my Kobo on my trip last year and it was very convenient. I honestly can’t recall anyone else reading though…obviously I was on my own little world and not into people watching! Glad you’re having a good time! 🙂

  2. Lost in a Great Book says:

    Even though I’m kind of biased about the whole paper book thing *cough*bookstore*cough*, I use my iPad and my Kobo as well as paper books. Frankly, if I didn’t, I think that my apartment might collapse under the sheer weight of all my books. Are you the kind who archives your books as soon as you’ve read them, or do you keep them on your ereader…. y’know, just in case you want to re-read?

    • LR says:

      I just finished writing my review on it (scheduled to come out in September) and I already know that this is one book you’re going to enjoy! I loved it and I found myself researching facts throughout my whole reading experience. ~Reeder

Leave a Reply

