My Bookshelf is Lonely

Over the years, I’ve run into a little bit of problem, well maybe not a problem, more of a situation. I receive new books every day… on my desk, from friends, etc. Accumulating this many books has created my poor bookshelf to pile higher and higher up to the ceiling. Books that I bought and received have remained unread (some for more than 3 years). This of course leads me to feel an immense sense of guilt. Now you’re probably thinking,

“This sounds like first world problems”

Which is true, but I don’t spend too much time in my home office, because every time I look to my left at all my overstuffed bookshelves, I feel like the world’s worst book lover. Then I think, “maybe if you spent less time watching ‘Extreme Couponing’ you would finally tackle your never ending book piles”, but then someone scores a sweet deal of getting 100 bottles of Powerade for a whooping $0.00 and I switch off the light to the office and abandon my bookshelf once again.

When the Olympic Readathon came into play (which has been one of the most rewarding and fun things to help be a part of) I vowed that I’d finally read something off my bookshelf. Thus, I picked a book that I’ve been meaning to read forever and a day, The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank. It was a perfect read, the main character, Jane is trying to figure it all out in interconnecting stories that are composed of self discovery and relateable situations. I’m just sad that I didn’t read it earlier.

I suppose the moral of this whole post is that from here on out, I’m going to make a valid effort to blow the dust off the books on my shelf and read! Many of you that follow this blog are avid readers, so I’m sure you can relate to this vow. So leave a comment below and calm my nerves that I’m not the only one out there that has run into this problem!

7 thoughts on “My Bookshelf is Lonely

  1. Chelsey says:

    Amen to that, sister! You have seen my place and therefore, you know this is not something you are battling alone lol. I try to go through and get rid of some, but they are all just so beautiful and hold the promise of wonderful stories and characters and thus they sit and wait. I like your idea of pulling a book off the shelf every so often and getting down to it. I think I’ll give Sarah Addison Allen the shot she deserves ;).

  2. Steph VanderMeulen (@BellasBookshelf) says:

    Man, do I hear you, Lindsey! Great post. I know exactly, EXACTLY, how you feel! I read for work, to review, and then for myself, and it’s hard to do this all at once. Thankfully, most of those for review are ones I want to read anyway…

    Take comfort in the knowledge that being surrounded by books is about being surrounded by potential and choice. There’s no shame in having more than one can keep up with. I honestly think this is like being surrounded by people we don’t even know cheering us on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

