Review: Tabloid Love – Bridget Harrison

The quote on the cover of Bridget Harrison’s Tabloid Love, says “The season’s must-have beach accessory” and I thought that quote was reason enough for me to pick it up, especially since I’m kicking off my week long vacation this week. Another reason I picked it up is, because both my friends Chelsea (from Chels and a Book) and Amy read and recommended this memoir.

This story was written in 2006, right around the peak of Sex and the City, but this book is NOT a fictional version of a woman who writes a dating column, this is the real life story of Bridget Harrison, who moved to New York City from London, England to chase after her dream job of working for the New York Post and hoped to find love in a city where finding love is nearly impossible. When Cheelsea lent me this book, she said that the leading man in this story was very chharming and that he was… Jack was Bridget’s boss at the New York Post and she quietly crushed on him from across the news room, I don’t want to give too much away, but I will say that after finishing the book, I completely agree with Chelsea; Jack is witty, fun and intelligent.

Many of the paragraphs share a broader description of Bridget’s dating column entries, she elaborates as to why she did the things she did, how she was feeling showing up man-less at a dinner schduled with her parents; all while researching crimes and murders for the Post.  

This is a fun and real depiction of what it’s like to find yourself in a city full of people while hunting to find the “one”. She holds nothing back and doesn’t shy away from the nitty gritty of what it’s like to be 30 and feel rejection every time she turns the corner in the game of love. I found myslef laughing out loud on more than one occasion. This really  is a great beach accesorry and a wonderful book to kick off my week long vaacation in Vegas (I’m actually typing this via my iPad at the airport right now).  If you’re in the mood for a chuckle in the sun, pick up this heartwarming memoir by Bridget Harrison.

One thought on “Review: Tabloid Love – Bridget Harrison

  1. Chelsey says:

    You already now I love this review, but I wanted to comment regardless! Ahhhh, Jack! I’m so glad you enjoyed this =). We shall have to discuss over drinks.. or .. baked goods, soon!

Leave a Reply

