2011 Virtual Advent Tour

As I sit in front of my computer to begin my contribution to Kelly and Marg’s yearly 2011 Virtual Advent blog post, please know that I’ve got my Michael Buble Christmas CD playing to add to my holiday cheer.

I’m one of those twenty-something’s that love Christmas and I still wake up at 5:30am Christmas morning because I’m too excited to sleep. We’ve got some holiday traditions at my family home that have stuck as my Brother and I grew up over the years. Like the way we always have homemade egg mcmuffins (Mom’s specialty) after we’ve opened our gifts or the way days prior to Christmas I make sure to watch ‘How the Grinch Stole Christmas’ (the cartoon version). But the holiday tradition that I’m sure that I’ll pass onto my family one day is our Christmas morning numbering system we Reeder’s have perfected over the years.

What’s a Christmas morning numbering system you ask? When my Brother and I were younger, we’d wake up at the crack of dawn and as soon as we’d run downstairs, we’d rip and tear open our gifts, hardly giving our parents one second to open their sleepy eyes to join in our excitement and see our happy/thrilled faces. So my parents came up with a more effective system so we could take the time and better appreciate each gift that was under the tree…They numbered the gifts. For the last 15 or so years, all the gifts under our tree were numbered from 1 to 40+ making it impossible to decipher what gift was ours under the tree. Seeing as how I LOVE Christmas, I use to spend hours shaking every single gift, because none of them were labeled ‘To: Lindsey’. The gift could say number 10 or number 4 and I had no clue if it was my gift or another family member’s gift.

On Christmas morning, my Dad pulls out the (very well hidden), master list that has been cut into little strips with the gift number and corresponding recipient on it and they’ve all been placed into a hat that we all take turns drawing from. For instance, I might select gift number 9 and then it would be reviled that the gift was for my Mother. Then my Mother chooses and so on and so on.

I know for each and everyone of us it has become a tradition that we all find very special because we’re all able to value the time together and make it a much more celebrated occasion.

Happy Holidays to each and everyone of you. I hope your holiday season is filled with happiness and joy! My thanks to Kelly and Marg for allowing me to be a part of the Virtual Advent Tour. I also want each of you to enjoy Michael Buble’s lovely holiday music, so as my holiday gift to YOU dear reader, I share with you a medley of some of his new Christmas tunes:

7 thoughts on “2011 Virtual Advent Tour

  1. amymckie says:

    What an interesting way to do it! Last year I spoke about our method which is a foam ball – you throw the ball and whatever present it hits, that person opens it and then throws. We also have food and drinks (all this happens Christmas Eve). I can’t imagine just ripping them all open, you would miss out on so much that way I think!!

  2. betty says:

    Now that is the cutest custom/tradition that you guys have with the numbering system for gifts! I like it and how fun too because it is all a surprise under the tree until Christmas morn!

    Enjoyed reading your traditions; when the kids were at home we would make egg mcmuffins too, delicious!!

    May you and your family have a very merry Christmas season!

    betty

  3. Marg says:

    What an interesting way to open your gifts! We have the kids be Santa’s helper and distribute the gifts, and then everyone goes all out opening them. Your ways seems a little more….civilised!

    Thanks so much for joining in on the tour this year and sharing your family Christmas with us.

  4. Mom says:

    Mom here… as I am writing this, my husband, John (Lindsey’s dad) is playing elf and tagging the numbers to all the gifts (even the ones from our daughter-in-law, Laura and son, Allen who are spending their first Christmas together in their new home in Toronto). Tomorrow will be the same as the past Christmas’s as we linger over coffee and my egg McMuffins and take the time to cherish every gift we receive this year (and not just the ones that come wrapped)… Merry Christams to all!!!

Leave a Reply

