Review: Diary of a Simple Girl – Adriana Caruso – Toncic

Adriana Caruso-Toncic was kind enough to send me a review copy of her new book, “Diary of a Simple Girl” and I’m so glad she did, because it was the perfect book to read to escape my never ending Christmas shopping list. Although, after reading this book, I now realize that maybe my “hectic” schedule is peanuts compared to a working Mom’s schedule. We are introduced to Katarina on the morning of her children’s first day of school. While struggling to make sure every child is dressed, fed and leaving with a lunch in tow, she’s rushing because she’s got a huge appointment with a potential client in relation to her successful interior design business.

To maintain her sanity, Katarina often writes/analyzes in her head a quick diary entry signing each entry, Your Simple Girl. Being a working Mom in today’s day and age is not an easy fete and these diary entries are a calming factor in Katarina’s life. When she’s offered an outstanding opportunity to design a home in New York City, she’s torn between her career and her family:

Dear Diary,

Do they really understand how important this new project is to me? How do I make them see that I’m not abandoning them, that this is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for most designers. For me, this is a dream come true in a city that I’ve longed to be a part of my entire life. Not to mention that a job like this can open up so many doors for me, jobs that I could have never imagined coming my way, and now there could be a potential of them becoming real. No matter how much I love my family, I just can’t pass this opportunity up. Is there any chance that with time they might understand?

Later,

Me, Your Simple Girl

Trying to find the right balance when your a working Mom is the premise of this novel and I think Mom’s everywhere will find themselves nodding their heads in agreement throughout this entire novel. “Diary of a Simple Girl” showcases the reality that no matter how organized you are as a Mom, each morning can take a different turn, it’s how you face those curve balls that makes a wonderful Mom.

The Bancari family is your typical working household, but Adriana Caruso-Toncic has created characters that stay with you long after the book is finished. It’s a fabulous read and is available online at chapters.ca, amazon.com, barnesandnoble.com and select Chapters, Indigo and Coles retail stores.

For more information on Adriana Caruso-Toncic, be sure to check out her website and follow her on twitter!

One thought on “Review: Diary of a Simple Girl – Adriana Caruso – Toncic

Leave a Reply

