Review: Girls in White Dresses

This is a book with a lot of buzz and for good reason. Jennifer Close’s “Girls in White Dresses” is a book that is so easy to relate to that you’ll fall in love with it by page 10. I’m a little bias, because the book targets the life of girls in their 20’s and early 30’s and being the ripe age of 27, I feel like I’m currently experiencing everything Isabella, Mary,  Lauren and friends are experiencing. This books seems to target this age group, but I do think that other age groups will find the stories humorous and easy to relate to in one way or another.

As many of you know, the life of a girl in their 20’s revolves around:
1. Careers
2. Men
3. Weddings
4. Babies
5. Friendships

Our 20’s are a pivotal time, because each of the points listed above affect how we shape our future. This is the case for these young women who spend their time dating “dirty sexy” men, attending countless weddings and choosing careers that will give them a sense of fulfillment, even if those stressful careers  involve hideaway cigarette breaks on the office rooftop for a much-needed escape.

This novel is broken up into interconnected short stories and each girl has her own set of issues happening. You’ll find yourself shaking your head up and down saying ‘oh I’ve been there before’. In my case, I connected most with Isabella who seems to spend a lot of time in her head (guilty as charged). Just like we all did with the ladies of Sex and the City, you’ll find yourself trying to decipher if you’re a Isabella, Lauren or a Mary.

I don’t want to give away too many story plot lines, but my favorite stories involve one of the girls and her frustration with the President, who ends up stealing her boyfriend. My other favorite story involves a nostalgic trip back to Isabella’s University. Like Isabella, I too know that when visiting my old University (Acadia; go Axemen) feelings of the ‘old days’ come up and I’m reminded of a time when throwing my hair up in a sloppy ponytail and putting on jogging pants was an acceptable thing to do in public.

This is the kind of book that I want to share with all my best friends, knowing that when they finish, we’ll be on phone saying “this was like reading a story about us”. In keeping with the theme of the title, “Girls in White Dresses” will quickly become one of your favorite things.

One thought on “Review: Girls in White Dresses

Leave a Reply

