Review: There is No Dog – Meg Rosoff

We live in a world where there is war, natural disaster and horrific acts that happen everyday, so many of us believe in a higher power, someone that lives high above that gives us strength to persevere when bad (or good) things happen. But what if the God we believed in was a 19-year-old boy named Bob, whose main goal in life is to win the affections of a zoo employee named Lucy?

This is the premise we walk into when you begin reading “There is No Dog” by Meg Rosoff. When you think 19-year-old boy, some may think words like “lazy”, “messy”, well those adjectives perfectly describe Bob AKA God. He’s got no drive and is obsessed with sex. He built the world in six days and it was done too quick and too sloppy; as an end result the worlds crisis’ are a result of his laziness and lack of responsibility. Luckily, for Bob (and for mankind) his trusty and level-headed assistant Mr. B (who’s 50 years in age) is the brains behind the operation. He seems to have a much better understanding of what and how to make the world a better place.

Mona, Bob’s Mother is equally as irresponsible as her son. She’s got a serious gambling problem that results in Bob’s pet, Eck being sold off to be eaten, because she claims they make the tastiest meal ever. Needless to say, this family is as dysfunctional as the next and the two are so self absorbed that the world ends up paying the price.

The people around this selfish family are the ones who really shape this novel, you’ll find yourself cheering for people like Mr. B who’s one goal in life is to save the whales and you’ll love Lucy who’s truly and honestly looking for true love. It’s a novel that made me smile, because I loved the premise that Meg Rosoff created, she’s an author that thinks outside the box, which is why I’ve always enjoyed her writing and I think you will too!

5 thoughts on “Review: There is No Dog – Meg Rosoff

  1. Jenna (Literature and a Lens) says:

    What an interesting book! You’re right about the idea being “outside the box.” Sounds like the characters are really well developed too. I’ve never heard of this one before so thanks for spotlighting it. I’ll definitely be looking into it more.

  2. Kailana says:

    I just read this, too. I have read all of Rosoff’s books and they are always really creative. 🙂 I am hoping to have my review up soon, but my computer kicked the bucket. 😦

  3. Steph VanderMeulen says:

    I took this one camping with me and read it in less than a week. I’m working on the review now! I don’t want to read yours until after I write mine. 😉

    Thanks for recommending it to me earlier!

Leave a Reply

