Canadian Living: Make it Tonight – The One where Reeder Slow Cooks

My cooking specialities range from cereal to frozen pizza. I know how to cook, I just really don’t enjoy it all that much. However, I’m trying to get out my comfort zone and try using all the cookbooks I’ve gathered over the years! The most recent cookbook I’ve obtained is Canadian Living’s: Make it Tonight and one of the recipes in the book sounded phenomenal; it’s called, Slow Cooker Chunky Beef Chili. This morning I dug out the slow cooker, the cutting board and the spices. I just finished this delicious dish and I can now say I’m a certified chili maker! I took pictures to document my journey and I’m including the recipe so you can all get an opportunity to make this yummy meal as well!

Slow Cooker Chunky Beef Chili

2lb stewing beef cubes
2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 onions, diced
2 large carrots, diced
2 ribs celery, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp dried oregano
1 can stewed tomatoes
1 can tomato paste
2 cans red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
2 tbsp chili powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 sweet green pepper, diced
1 tsp hot pepper sauce (optional)

1. Cut beef into 1/2 inch cubes. In large skillet, heat oil over medium heat; brown beef, in 4 batches. With slotted spoon, transfer to slow cooker.

2. Pour off any fat in skillet. Fry onions, carrots, celery, garlic and oregano over medium heat until softened, about 5 minutes. Scrape into slow cooker.

3. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, beans, chili powder and salt to slow cooker. Cover and cook on low until beef in tender, about 6 hours.

4. Skim off any fat. Stir in green pepper, and hot pepper sauce (if using). cover and cook for 30 minutes.

~Makes 8 – 12 servings

You can find this recipe and other great recipes in Canadian Living: Make it Tonight, which is in stores now!

4 thoughts on “Canadian Living: Make it Tonight – The One where Reeder Slow Cooks

    • LR says:

      I froze 4 containers of this recipe and had it again for dinner last night – it was just as delicious as it was the first time around! 🙂

Leave a Reply

