Book Love Sunday

Happy Easter Blogging Friends! I hope your long Easter weekend has been filled with family, friends and lots and lots of chocolate. It’s the second installment of Book Love Sunday, where I list book lists that have some sort of theme and utilize all of you to help participate.

Last week, I created a list of books that I could never give up, books that I lug with me every time I move and that I cherish more than others. Many of you made lovely contributions listing books that you could never give up. Here is a few of the comments I received:

________________________________________________________________________

SandySays1 could never part with some of the following books: “A River Runs Through It” – Norman Maclean; “To Kill a Mockingbird” – Harper Lee; “Message in a Bottle” – Nicholas Sparks to name a few…

Julie at Read Handed most prized book is her 1926 copy of Louisa May Alcott’s “Little Woman

Steph from Bella’s Bookshelves found the challenge a little difficult, because her books are an extension of her (I hear that) but if forced would hang onto her children’s collection of Robert Ingpen-illustrated classics and her Three Investigators original series.

A Super Girl would nominate her Shopaholic books as being the books that she couldn’t leave behind, because they’re special to her and she loves them!

________________________________________________________________________

Thanks to all these lovely bloggers who participated!!! Now for this week’s list of books! To keep with the running theme of last week’s first list, I thought I’d switch it up this week and list the Books I Wish I’d Never Lost or Given Away

We’ve all done it… misplaced a book, lent it to someone never to be returned or you’ve been forced to pare down your books because they’re taking over your home and you figured you would never read it again. Whatever the case, there are books that we all wish we still had today and if we were ever to stumble on them at a thrift shop/used bookstore, we’d never part with them again. So without further ado, I give to you the books I wish I still had on my bookshelves today:

1. The Best Little Monkeys in the WorldThe Best Little Monkeys in the World – Natalie Standiford  – When I was a young child, this was my favorite book to have my Mom and Dad read to my brother and I before bedtime. It’s about two little monkey’s who’s parents go out for a night on the town and get babysat by this cool older monkey. I don’t neccisarily remember why I liked it so much, but it’s the one book I always look for in used bookstores.
2.                       Little Rabbit’s Loose Tooth – Lucy Bate – I’ve included this title, not because it’s Easter, but because I loved this book when I was little. I was a big pudding fan and I remember it making a big appearance in this story.

3.                The Berenstain Bears and Mama's New Job           Mama’s New Job – Stan and Jan Berenstain – I believe we got this book in our home when my Mom went back to work when I was 6 and my brother was 4. I remember thinking it was so cool that Mama bear (and my Mama) were venturing out into the world and making other smile by selling quilts (or books in my Mama Bears case)
4. Chestnuts for the Brave – Sharon Gibson Palermo – Unfortunately, I was unable to find a picture of this book, but let me just say that this was the first author I EVER met. She came to my grade three class and I got my book signed by her. It’s a story of a family immigrating to Canada and arriving in Halifax, Nova Scotia
5. a/  Jessica's Secret Diary Volume III  Jessica’s Secret Diary – Francine Pascal
     b/  Elizabeth's Secret Diary, Volume III Elizabteth’s Secret Diary – Francine Pascal – Who didn’t love the Wakefield twins when growing up? They were the best! I loved their series, but my favorite copies of their books, were their secret diaries, it revealed why Jessica found all the men she fell for and why Elizabeth found Todd so dreamy.


6.         Baby-Sitters Club Super Special #6: New York, New York   Baby-Sitters Club Super Special #6 New York, New York – Ann M. Martin – Move over Twilight series, because The BabySitter’s Club were all the rage when I was in school. This was my favorite out of the whole series because Stacey was my favorite club member. She was from New York and had great fashion sense. One of my life goals was to travel to NYC when I got old enough to go with friends. Now that I’m “grown up”, I’ve been twice, once with one of my best friends and the other time was about a year ago with a fabulous group of girls, including JK from KIRBC


7.       Who's a Scaredy CatWho’s a Scaredy Cat – Joan Payzant – This was a book they read to us when I was in school and I loved it so much that I asked my Mom and Dad if I could get it for a Birthday gift one year. It was about the Halifax Explosion that took place in 1917.
8.                                Don’t Die, My Love – Lurlene McDaniel – My Mother referred to these books as the ‘dead girl’ books. They were depressing and did always end in someone losing thier life, but I loved it. This was my favorite one, Luke develops Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and I remember looking the disease up in my encyclopedia… this just goes to show you how long ago I was consumed by Lurlene McDaniel’s writing. She still actively writes today, but I haven’t read her in awhile, mostly because it can be a tad depressing.
9.                            B, my name is Bunny – Norma Fox Mazer –I still wish I owned this book, solely for the reason that it was the first chapter book that I ever read on my own. I remember reading it my reading hideaway in my closest and beaming it when I finished it because I was so proud of myself.


10. Ramona Quimby Age 8Ramona Quimby, Age 8 – Beverly Cleary –What I wouldn’t give to have my Ramona collection back! I loved this young girl and her big sister Beezus! As a kid, I thought it was so neat that Ramona had an Aunt Bea, because that’s what we called my Aunt. They called her Aunt Bea because her aunts name was Beatrice. Naturally, I thought my Aunt’s full name was Beatrice too, when in reality, we called her Aunt Bea because we couldn’t pronounce Aunt Elizabeth.

BONUS: Full House Stephanie: Twin Troubles – Mary Wright – Last week, I included Jodie Sweetin’s “UnSweetined” in my list of books I’d keep forever and ever because I loved Full House and I LOVED Stephanie. I don’t know if any of you remember, but Stephanie had a whole line of books out and I owned every single one. I can’t remember when (or why) I gave this complete series away, but one year ago I came across one of the books in the series and I had to buy it… so I give you Stephanie Tanner when she was pure and wasn’t know as the girl who gets into legal troubles with drugs:

So what about you friends – what are the books that you still wish you had on your shelves???

~Happy Easter

5 thoughts on “Book Love Sunday

  1. amymckie says:

    This is a really easy one for me. I really liked the book The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime. But an ex took it years ago when we broke up, he claimed it was his and he had lent it to me which was very untrue. I then picked up a new copy myself, and it was borrowed by a friend and never returned. Eventually I got a THIRD copy through BookMooch which also disappeared off my shelf at one point! Now, I don’t love the book THAT much so won’t buy a fourth copy, but my, I do wish that I still had it!

    Also, will you visit NYC again and do BEA?

    • LR says:

      The BSC were my favorite!!! I can’t imagine why I EVER gave my copies away?! Lurlene McDaniel was not good by any means, but oh man, she knew how to make me cry! LOL

  2. Julie says:

    I loved Lurlene McDaniel books when I was younger. I don’t think I owned any of them (but maybe I did?), but I checked them out from the library all the time. And Beverly Cleary was my favorite author all through elementary school – I still have my Ramona collection though the books are currently in boxes instead of on shelves. I could never part with my Ramona books!

Leave a Reply

