Libraries = Happiness

The richest person in the world – in fact all the riches in the world – couldn’t provide you with anything like the endless incredible loot available at your local library.  ~ Malcolm Forbes

I’m a big fan of the Toronto Public Library, not because they’re all around the GTA making it easier not to have to walk more than 7km to find a friendly staffed library filled with books. I don’t travel to the one closest to me, because I’m partial to the Richview library by my old home. Recently, the Richview library underwent some renovations and considering that there were extensive changes happening, they remained upbeat and functional while working out of their small basement. Recently, they reopened their doors and issued this statement welcoming back the community to their new and improved location.

I couldn’t wait to go check it out and when I went the other day I was so surprised and impressed with the location that I took a few pictures on my cell phone to share with all of you the improvements that were made! Please ignore the blurry shots, my phone and I don’t coordinate well with one another all the time:

The "urban living room" definately has a welcoming feel 🙂

Their DVD selection has a wide range of selections, making you feel like youre in a Blockbuster as opposed to a library

The Computer labs have a modern look to them that made me smile, so much so that I shook my hand in this shot and didnt get a clear shot! Oops

The "Teen" section is closed off for privacy and has a coffee shop look to it with round seats and tables

The COOLEST part of the new library had to be the self serve checkout. You just put your books on that pad thing to the right and voila!

 Although it wasn’t particularily “quiet”, I think there was a lot of buzz and excitement about their new layout. If you’re out in the west end, it’s definately worth a visit! Remember to always utilize your nearest library – what’s better than a great environment and free books! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Libraries = Happiness

  1. Jessica says:

    I like the separate area for the YA bit, that must be great for homework. I wish they did that for children in mine as ts difficult keeping a two year old quiet sometimes.

  2. Natalie says:

    Many people have favourite places to find their special books or to read them…it’d be cool to ask your followers where their favorite places are…Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

