Book Love Sunday

Sundays are by far my favorite day of the week – mainly because it’s a day of rest, relaxation, books and coffee in my home. That’s why I thought it would be fun to create a new feature on Reeder Reads that incorporates favorite books and my favorite day of the week and call it Book Love Sunday. Each Sunday I plan on posting different lists of books that get me (and hopefully you) excited. Since many of you that read my blog leave lovely comments, I’m hoping to utilize all of you to participate when I ask your favorite books in particular genres and themes in the near future.

However, to kick things off, I created a list of books on my shelves that I could NEVER part with – these books are the one’s I’ve read numerous times and the ones that get their own box when moving from apartment to apartment so they don’t get lost in the shuffle – now that’s love 😉

 These are some of my favorites and if you can’t see them clearly, I’ve listed them below and included links so that if you haven’t read them, you can navigate to amazon to purchase them immediately. No pressure or anything!

1. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
2. The Birth House – Ami McKay
3. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows
4. Prep – Curtis Sittenfeld
5. The Beauty of Humanity Movement – Camilla Gibb
6. Green Grass, Running Water – Thomas King
7. Fall on your Knees – Ann-Marie MacDonald
8. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – Ann Brashares
9. A Complicated Kindness – Miriam Toews
10. Unsweetined – Jodie Sweetin

I could list many, many more, but these 10 are definately in the top running. What are the books on your shelves that you take extra good care of and could never give up????

8 thoughts on “Book Love Sunday

  1. amymckie says:

    Ooohhhh great idea and great starting list. A few there that are on my tbr pile, a few that I’ve read and thought meh, a few I haven’t read. BUT The Birth House is definitely a favorite of mine too 🙂 Love that book!

  2. SandySays1 says:

    Top books my human WON’t let me chew on:
    A River Runs Through It – Maclean
    To Kill a Mocking Bird – Lee
    The Greatest Generation – Brokaw
    A Stillness at Appomattox (sp?) – Catton
    Message in a Bottle – Sparks
    For Whom the Bell Tolls – Hemie Baby
    Tom Sawyer – Twain
    Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Capote
    Rally Round the Flag Boys – Shulman
    South Pacific – Miechner (sp?)
    Sorry about the spelling but I had a thorn in my paw so I’m not real ambitious today.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  3. Julie @ Read Handed says:

    I would have a difficult time parting with any of my books (to the chagrin of my husband, who has had to help move dozens of boxes of books during three moves in the last three years), but my most prized book is a copy of Little Women from 1926. It belonged to my grandmother when she was a girl. It’s not in the best condition, but it has a lot of sentimental value.

  4. Steph says:

    This is a really tough question! I look at my collection and immediately think: all of them! Seriously, I take care of all of them and wouldn’t give up any. If I could, I wouldn’t have them now!

    I suppose if forced to choose, I’d start out with my children’s collection of Robert Ingpen-illustrated classics, any signed books I have, the hard to find rare ones, like my Three Investigators original series, any special editions…hmmm. This is too hard. My books have been with me for a long time. They’re an extension of me!

  5. A Super Girl says:

    The Kite Runner would definitely be on my list, and I also loved A Thousand Splendid Suns.

    It’s hard for me to pick favorite books though — especially since I really don’t read any more than once. As light as they are, the Shopaholic books are special to me. I just love the series.

    Otherwise, it’s just so hard. I love them all! It’s why I haven’t broken down and bought an e-Reader. I love actual books!

    • Steph says:

      I’m with you Super Girl. 🙂

      Though, okay, The Historian, Shadow of the Wind, and People of the Book are three that are very special to me. There are more, I assure you.

Leave a Reply

