While Reading I Listen To…

Photo Source

Do you know how hard it was to find an image that alludes to listening to music while reading? Hard, really hard. However, with some patience I found the above image online to demonstrate my thoughts on music and literature.

Often times when I’m reading I have a “go to” playlist that I put on in the background for three reasons:
1. I like some background noise
2. I like my apartment neighbors to continue to think I’m in the land of the living and music is a general indication I’m not sitting alone in a small corner
3. If I’m taking transportation, it’s an easy way to block out the people talking to one another or to someone on their cell phone

My reading music is properly categorized in my ipod as ‘Reeder Reads’, clearly I don’t get additional points for being creative. Needless to say, I go to this playlist on a regular basis so I can listen to this soothing/ambient music and I thought it would be cool to share my list of personal favorites and ask all of you who regulary visit to share some of your favorite reading music so I can add to my list.

Here are the songs/artists that make regular appearances on this list. I thought it would only be better organized if I chose an artist from each letter of the alphabet, since I have 500+ songs:

Maple Tree – Angel Taylor
C.S. Leweis Song – Brooke Fraser
You Got Me – Colbie Caillat
Endlessly – Duffy
Orinoco Flow – Enya
I Feel it All – Feist
Moon and Sun – Gomez
All will be Forgotten – Holly Brook
Everybody – Ingrid Michaelson
Hope – Jack Johnson
Who you are without Me – Kate Voegele
In Sleep – Lissie
Are you Satisfied? – Marina and the Diamonds
This Tornado Loves You – Neko Case
Big Sky – One More Girl
Wallflower – Priscilla Ahn
Don’t Stop me Now – Queen
Fidelity – Regina Spektor
Sentimental Heart – She & Him
For you I Will – Teddy Geiger
Kaboom! – Ursula 1000
Mansford Roof – Vampire Weekend
Please Speak Well of Me – The Weepies
— I have no X artists —
Zero – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
In the Waiting Line – Zero 7

So there you have it… as mentioned below, this is just a select few of my favorite tunes for reading music, but I’d love to hear what you have on in the background while reading, so feel free to share!!!

As always, happy reading 🙂

3 thoughts on “While Reading I Listen To…

  1. A Super Girl says:

    I’m impressed you can read with music on. I think I’d get too distracted and not pay attention to what I’m reading. Obviously my brain can only process one set of words at a time!

  2. Erin says:

    I don’t think I could handle public transit without music! I also like to have music when I read, for me certain songs/artists are attached to certain books. There is one song that actually gets me teary because of a book.
    Oh, for X, listen to The xx, they’re quite good and chill to read to. Go Youtube “Inifinity” to see what I mean. 🙂

  3. Bo says:

    I enjoy listening to some ‘Sigur Ros’, or ‘This Will Destroy You’. It’s just enough background noise that it’s not distracting, while providing a soothing melody which sets the tone for a relaxing read. It’s the best way to end an otherwise chaotic day!

Leave a Reply

