Reading Wrap Up – January

Can you believe that a month ago we were all ringing in the new year with champagne and in my case a sing-a-long to Fat Joe!?? Now 34 days later, we’re well into 2011 and hopefully all keeping those resolutions we vowed we’d stick to this time… right? RIGHT!?

This month was a big reading month for me, for no particular reason other than the fact that it’s blistering cold in Toronto and I’ve been spending many nights/weekends at home wrapped in my snuggie, drinking boatloads of coffee and reading copious amounts of books.  

I started off the year by reading one of the CBC’s Canada Reads nominees, Carol Shield’s, “Unless” – which was absolutely fabulous and was everything I expected out of Carol Shields. Then I took a completely different direction and read Russell Peter’s autobiography, “Call me Russell” which was much more heart warming than I expected. Then I picked up Ami McKay’s novel, “The Birth House” for the second time and I fell in love all over again. I rounded out my Canada Reads 2011 reading by reading Jeff Lemire’s fabulous graphic novel, “Essex County“, which was filled with a great Canadian feel and a whole lot of heart. Next up was “The Maze Runner” by James Dashner which isn’t a book I’d normally pick up, but I’m so glad I did! It was filled with suspense and mystery and I couldn’t put it down! Another book I couldn’t put down was Nick Crowe’s “A Cold Night for Alligators“, like “The Maze Runner”, it was filled with suspense and mystery. It’s always a plus when you find authors that have a real knack for keeping you on the edge of your seat. I then felt it was time for a couple of biographies, so I picked up the loveable and talented Kat Von D and her new book, “The Tattoo Chronicles” where she provided an insider look into her personal life and her tattoo experiences. I rounded out my great reading month with a fabulous memoir “Your Voice in my Head” written by Emma Forrest about her experiences with depression.

There was nothing depressing about the month of January and I’m hoping that my reading streak keeps up throughout the month of February. Since we received a huge amount of snow overnight, it doesn’t look like I’ll be spending too much time outdoors anytime soon.

I hope you had a great January reading month too! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up – January

Leave a Reply

