Nablopomo #8 – Review: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Yesterday I spent the day at Starbucks, on my couch and at my kitchen table (while eating) reading Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s newest novel, “Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares“. When a novel is as good as this book was then I have no problem dedicating most of my day to reading it.

If you aren’t familiar with Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, let me give you a little history. They wrote the novel “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist” which in turn got created into a movie starring Michael Cera and Kat Dennings. The fun part about Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s writing is that they each take turns writing different parts of the story, Rachel speaking on behalf of the female character and David takes on the male narrative. This unique way of writing has been very successful for both authors, especially (in my opinion) after reading their latest novel.

I suppose I should share the plot so you can see why I’m raving on and on about this book. It’s Christmas time in New York City and both Lily and Dash have been left home alone over the Christmas holidays while their parents are visiting spas and resorts in warmer destinations. Lily is left home with her brother who thinks it will be fun to write a dare in a red moleskin book and leave it at the popular bookstore “Strand”. Young Dash is the person that finds the moleskin and who decides to correspond with the unique and self-proclaimed “odd” girl named Lily.We are then taken on a magical journey through the eyes of Dash and Lily, travelling to famous New York City landmarks and re-experiencing the feelings of first love. All dares are traded back and forth in the moleskin, kind of like what the authors do with one another. The backdrop of the novel is set in a beautiful winter/Christmas wonderland.

This is the kind of book that was meant for Sunday afternoons and lots of tea. It was sweet and unique story all rolled into 272 pages. It’s also a great read to get you in the mood for the upcoming Christmas season!

Happy Reading!!!

2 thoughts on “Nablopomo #8 – Review: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

  1. Liz (Midnight Bloom) says:

    Oh, thanks for sharing the link from Bookurious! I’ve only read a a few of the reviews for this one and they they were all mostly positive, so it’s great to read another one. It sounds like such a fun read and I like the thought of alternating POVs! Once I somehow find some time and get some other books read off my ever growing TBR pile, I’ll definitely have to borrow it from my sister and read it! ^_^

Leave a Reply

