Read-a-thon Progress and Review #1

It’s hour 4 into the read-a-thon and I’ve completed reading one book, which is good considering the fact that I’m about to pack up my stuff and head to the brother and sister-in-laws for Thanksgiving dinner. Even though I’m taking a huge break in the middle of the day, I have every intention of coming back tonight and continue going. I’m hoping I’m not too exhausted from eating plate after plate of turkey!!! MMMMM…..

The first book I read this morning was Delphine de Vigan’s “No and Me” which was recommended to me by a co-worker that loved it. Her rave review is what made it my first selection for the read-a-thon this morning. It is the story of Lou Bertignac who at age 14 has got lost in the shadows of her little sister’s death. Her family is broken, her Mother is hanging on by a thread, her Father going through the motions and Lou who is completely lost. You can sense her pain in this quote, “I just want to be like other people. I envy their ease, their laughter, their stories. I’m sure they’ve got something I haven’t. I’ve spent ages looking in the dictionary for a word that means ease, casualness, confidence. A word that I can put in my notebook in capital letters, like a magic spell”.

Things take a drastic turn when Lou is asked to choose a topic for a project for school. The first thing that comes out of her mouth when asked to choose a topic is investigating the life of homeless people. In order to do research she sets out to meet someone who lives on the streets and this is when we are first introduced to No. Her name is actually Nolwenn, but she goes by the name of No.

No is a few years older than Lou, but this doesn’t take away from the fact that they are both looking to find someone to look out for them and show them love. They quickly build an unbreakable bond and Lou even gathers the courage to ask her parents is No can stay at their home for a while while she gets on her feet again. No enters the Bertignac home and not only does No start to change the way Lou sees things, she also has a tremendous impact on Lou’s Mother and Father.

It was sweet, caring and a definite read for anyone that like a good story about friendship.

Happy Reading Friends and have fun this afternoon while I’m out of office 😉

9 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Progress and Review #1

    • softdrink says:

      Whoops! I forgot what I had previously copied. Sorry! This is what I meant:

      (Non)traditional Buddhist readathon blessing:

      Just as the books fill the shelves,
      Pile together on the floor and stack up on the table
      So may the joy of the readathon
      Flow forth to brighten your day and lift your spirit.
      Books already read, books in progress and books yet to be read.

      By the power of every word on the page
      May your book be delightful,
      As scary as Lovecraft’s Cthulhu
      Or as sweet as a box of See’s candy.

      Let the power of the images evoked by words
      Keep you stay awake long through the night
      May no obstacle impede
      Your day filled with books.

      For all of those who are reading today
      Who follow in the path of Dewey
      May your day be filled with the four blessings
      Of fabulous books, tasty snacks, comfy chairs and joy.

  1. midnightbookgirl says:

    Off to a good start! Now, go stuff your face with a holiday feast, and I’ll be here to cheer you on for the later hours of Readathon!

    *this hearty cheer/praise/pick-me-up is brought to you in part from Team Metaphor and the letter R.

  2. Kailia Sage says:

    So I picked up a book on my own from the shelf and I started to read on my own to myself. And nonsense and knowledge come tumbling out, whispering mysteries, history’s shout, the wisdom of wizards, the songs od the ages, all the wonders of wandering wonderful pages. ~Karla Kuskin

  3. tanabata says:

    Congrats on finishing your first book! I’m kind of jealous that you’re having a big Thanksgiving meal today. I’m Canadian too, but living in Japan and there’s no Thanksgiving here. (And way too much effort to make all that for just the 2 of us). Have an extra slice of turkey for me, would ya?
    And good luck with the rest of your reading when you get back. Happy thanksgiving!

  4. Trisha says:

    One, Two, Three, Four
    Get one done and read some more
    Five, Six, Seven, Eight
    Reading so much, can’t see straight
    Nine, Ten, Eleven, Twelve
    Pick another up off the shelf!
    Happy Reading!

  5. Florinda says:

    I’m not so good at clever cheers – just keep on reading, and we’ll be here (to keep you motivated – yeah!)

    Happy Readathon – good luck and have fun! And Happy Thanksgiving, too :-).

Leave a Reply

