Review: The Carrie Diaries – Candace Bushnell


Before I begin, I should share with all of you that one of my favorite shows in the whole wide world is Sex and the City, so as soon as Candace Bushnell wrote the novel, “The Carrie Diaries” documenting what went Carrie Bradshaw was like before she was Carrie Bradshaw I was dying to get my hands on this book.

The concept of the novel is great, the actual novel (for me) not so great. I had trouble relating to any of the characters (even Carrie) and I found each character to be frustrating a little too dramatic for my liking. It’s your typical high school story. A new boy comes to their school named Sebastian Kydd and he’s got that bad boy swagger, which automatically draws every girl in the school to him, including Carrie. It doesn’t speak very highly of his character that the Indigo Teen Read Awards nominated Sebastian as Best Villain in a YA book. Results for the Indigo Teen Read Awards will be announced at the big event this Saturday, September 25th.

Carrie’s got a close-knit group of friends, just like she does as she gets older in NYC. However, this group of high school friends are nothing like Samantha, Miranda and Charlotte. They are snotty, vindictive and anything but loyal. I’m surprised that Carrie was able to develop a vision of what a good friendship should be, because this group of friends were not a very good example.

Bushnell also wanted to make a point that Carrie had a feminist attitude when it comes to “most” situations, strongly believing that marriage isn’t for everyone and a woman’s right is important and makes her stand out. However, I found she contradicted herself as soon as she developed the Carrie and Sebastian storyline.

Around page 200 I was kind of fed up with the plot, but decided to read on in hopes that it would get better. Unfortunately, it did not, for my liking anyway.

I tweeted to my fellow tweet peeps asking them:
If you’re in the middle of a book and you can’t tolerate the characters (or the plot) do you continue to read?

I got lots of great responses like:

@jforrest sometimes the most interesting books are ones where I dislike the characters (Freedom for example)

@BellasBookshelf Life is way too short for that; there are too many good books. If I don’t like it, I quit.

@graceelena I try to get through it if possible but if it really gets on my nerves then I just stop reading.

@lighttan Not liking a character’s ok. As JF says, makes it interesting. Not liking plot/ voice is a deal breaker.

So I want to know blog readers, do you drop it or follow through to the end???

3 thoughts on “Review: The Carrie Diaries – Candace Bushnell

  1. Jessica says:

    I read the sex and the city book once and I remember being really excited about it as I was such a huge fan of the show.

    I ended up putting the book in a bin in the street – the TV writers really developed those characters considering they didnt have that much to work on.

  2. ria says:

    i used to think it was a crime to not finish a book but i’ve come to the realization that there are a billion other books that i want to read and not enough time. so i use that as my justification for quitting books in the middle 🙂

  3. Erika says:

    I’ll put the book back on the shelf and give it a try again months or years later. Maybe it wasn’t meant for me to read it at that time. Like Eat Pray Love. I couldn’t get into it the first time. It’s better this time, even if I skipped the Eat part.

    But if I can’t get into it the second time, that I will quit trying. You shouldn’t waste time on reading books you don’t like. It’s like a TV show, you don’t waste your time watching one that you don’t like.

Leave a Reply

