How You can get access to a Kobo Reader… FOR FREE!

If I’m sure about anything when it comes to reading, it’s that I am officially in love with my Sony Reader. I will never be able to replace reading books with pages, because I love the smell of them and the collection aspects. However, not having to lug a 500 page novel to and from work each day is a HUGE benefit to owning an e-reader; especially when it comes to vacations and not having to bring 5 books in my luggage (this leaves much more room for clothes). I also love the fact that I can have 300 books at my fingertips by the click of a button. No matter which way we look at it, e-books are going to become a huge staple in the publishing industry. So when companies (and people) embrace this new wave of technology, I think it’s exciting, because change can be a good thing.

Recently Random House, Kobo and Fairmont Hotels have joined together to encourage hotel guests to have access to Kobo readers for free. If you’re a member of the Fairmont President’s Club, and you stay at one of the ten locations that will be listed below, then you can have access to pre-filled Kobo readers with Random House bestseller titles. Getting bestsellers at your fingertips for free! How rad is that?! As I mentioned before, it’s NO FUN having to carry your books with you wherever you go and if you’re like me, it can be more than one book.

Fairmont Hotels acceptance to embrace new age technology is admirable and I’m looking forward to other companies getting on the band wagon in the future.  I’m sure it’ll only be a matter of time before the option to use e-readers at your local library becomes available.

Now for the Canadian and US cities that have Kobo Readers accessible to their guests:
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Turnberry Isle
Fairmont Copley Plaza
The Plaza, a Fairmont Managed Hotel

So if you planning a vacation to any of the above hotels in the near future, leave your book and bookmarks at home, because you won’t need them – Kobo and Random House will happily entertain you with some great bestsellers!

2 thoughts on “How You can get access to a Kobo Reader… FOR FREE!

  1. steph says:

    Oh…I’m still so conflicted about getting an ereader! I liked my sister’s Kobo, as much as I tried not to…with the 100 preloaded books, it’s worth the price and never having to buy another book, even.

    But I still can’t get over that betrayal feeling I have. It would never replace a book, and do I want to keep looking at a screen after I do all day already? It’s a pleasure to close this laptop and pick up my novel…

Leave a Reply

