BSC and SATC Review

The library called this week notifying me that I had books on hold and when I went and saw the books I had waiting, I was sooo excited because I got the new Ann M. Martin book, “The Summer Before” and a copy of “Sex and the City” the movie (in book format). As I carried the two home, I got to thinking what similarities both the BSC and the SATC crews have in common. Sure, one group babysat and cared for small children and the other group had sex 24/7 but at the core of each story is a group of friends that care for one another and always have each other’s best interest at heart.

At age 26, I grew up reading the Babysitter’s Club. I can remember many a time holed up in my room reading about the adventures of Kristy, Claudia, Mary Anne, Stacey and the rest of the crew. I read them all, I even read the chunky “super” editions – remember those?? I was psyched to revisit the group of girls that shaped some of my childhood memories and read about their summer before they started the infamous Babysitter’s Club. Kristy’s searching for her Dad, Mary Anne is looking for any kind of independence from her father, Stacey has just arrived to Conneticut and Claudia thinks she’s outgrown both Kristy and Mary Anne. It wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but it was so nice to revisit the characters and I think Ann M. Martin did a great job of a creating a nice introduction to the story and for first time readers of the collection, it is a good way to get introduced to the main characters (even Mallory gets a shout out)

The Sex and the City book was really good too, it’s an actual play by play of stills from the movie. At the top of the page it explains the stories and on some of the pages below Micheal Patrick King (who writes and directs Sex and the City) has given an insider comments about particular scenes. I really liked this book because I’m a huge fan of Sex and the City. There were also fun quotes all throughout the book.

I thought it might be fun to compare the two sets of characters, here’s how I think it would play out:

 See it can be done… hahaha. I think that there are similar characteristics between the linked characters. The stories were also both based on books before they hit the big screen. Remember the BSC movie – I own it on DVD because I’m cool like that! 😉

The stories are obviously different,  but as I mentioned before, at the core of each of these stories is a group of friends that love and repect one another and both stories are a great read!

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “BSC and SATC Review

  1. Kerry says:

    Interesting comparison, though I think that Stacey is Carrie, and Kristy is Miranda… Only because Miranda’s focus on her career reminds me of Kristy’s on her softball coaching.

Leave a Reply

