Review: If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This – Robin Black

I’m not one for short stories, I probably do one story collection a year. This was my selection for the year 2010 and I think it was a pretty good one.

 Robin Black has composed a collection of 9 stories in her novel, “If I loved you, I would tell you this” and the basis of each story seems to revolve around middle aged woman going through life transitions. These transitions include cancer, alzheimers disease and blindness. Robin Black seems to have learned the trick to writing a good short story, because each story was filled with characters that are easy to relate to and seem authentic and personal to the reader.

 Clara from the story, ‘Immortalizing John Parker’ was a touching character who reminded me an awful lot of my grandmother. It was filled with love and a newfound sense of independence in Clara’s old age. It was touching and I think this was probably my favorite from the collection. Clara explains in the story about her family and their ability to separate as a family grows up together,

Family life. Looking back, it seems like a dance, a four person minuet comprised of steps towards and steps away, apporaches and retreats, ending, finally, with each of them standing entirely alone.

I thought this was an interesting way to look at family life and I think it’s so true. This connection with the reader is what made this collection so enjoyable.

 If you’re looking for stories filled with compassion, realness and tenderness, be sure to pick up Robin Black’s, “If I loved you, I would tell you this”.

4 thoughts on “Review: If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This – Robin Black

  1. Kathleen says:

    I’ve been looking for a good recommendation on a short story collection for awhile. This sounds like a good one.

  2. Diane says:

    I am not a huge short story fan, but I am looking forward to this collection. Thanks for encouraging me all the more!

Leave a Reply

