Read-a-Thon Update and Review #5 The Face on the Milk Carton – Caroline B. Cooney

I just polished off another Redbull and somehow I’m still sleepy, so basically it has yet to give me wings. I’ve been laying on my coach and finished off another book and I’m uncertain if I’ll be able to read another one, here’s hoping the energy drink kicks in momentarily. Thanks to my dieting ways, I am not relying on any sugary sweets, I’ve had cucumbers, frozen grapes and 100 calorie chocolate chip cookies. God help me!

The book I just completed was Caroline B. Cooney’s “The Face on the Milk Carton

Have any of you read this young adult novel before? I believe I read it once or maybe I remember a lot of it from watching the TV movie back in 1995. I’ve had it on my shelf (and the rest of the series) for quite some time and what better way to finally read it then by reading it during the read-a-thon!?

What would you do if you saw your baby picture on the back of a milk carton? This is what Janie Johnson sees one day while sitting in the cafeteria with her friends. Thoughts start swirling through her mind like, I remember that itchy dress, I remember spinning on a stool… These thoughts obviously scare her, because she loves her parents who have always been overly protective. It begs the question, could they be kidnappers?

During this rough time, Janie goes back and forth about what she do and she consults her neighbor Reeve, who’s a year older than her and has always been “the older brother type”… until one day when feelings begin to change.

The story focuses on the dilemma Janie is experiencing and her love life with Reeve. The novel ends on a cliff hanger. I know I’ll be reading  the companion book, “Whatever happened to Janie” in the near future to find out what happens next…

8 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Update and Review #5 The Face on the Milk Carton – Caroline B. Cooney

  1. Cass says:

    WOW I have not thought of this book in so long! I don’t remember reading it, but I think I read “Whatever Happened to Jane?”

    I love the nostalgia of books from that period. I read a R.L. Stine novel a few months back and it was kiiiind of hilarious.

    PS You can do it! Keep reading! Take a walk or have a special treat.

  2. Carol says:

    A story is a special thing
    The ones that I have read
    They do not stay inside the books
    They stay inside my head.
    (author unknown)

    Looks like you’re having a great read-a-thon.

  3. Elle says:

    What a coincidence! I read this from the library years ago, and I only remember bits and pieces from it, but today I was at a bookstore and saw it, and even contemplated buying it to read it again (didn’t end up doing that though)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

