Read-a-thon Progress and Review #4 Garden Spells – Sarah Addison Allen

12 hours and 4 books completed… I’m pretty psyched by my progress thus far, if I do say so myself. I ordered dinner in so I didn’t have to take a time out to cook something. As I’m writing this I’ve got the TV on for the first time today, but as soon as this post is completed, I’m going to start reading again. I’m a little nervous to see how I’ll do after the late hours of the night… only time will tell.

I just finished reading “Garden Spells” by Sarah Addison Allen and in one word I’d sum it up as delightful.

I’ve had numerous people tell me this book was a good read and they weren’t lying. It was one of my longer books today, but it didn’t feel like it because it was so enjoyable to read that I didn’t mind reading the extra pages.

The Waverly sisters, Claire and Sydney, are a mystery to the town of Bascom, North Carolina. It is mentioned throughout the book that there is something peculiar about them. Even their garden behind their late grandmother’s house has a reputation.

Claire (the oldest sister) is a caterer who lives alone in her deceased grandmother’s home and tends to the garden each day, sometimes even falling asleep in beds of flowers. She lives a pretty lonely life, that is until her sister, Sydney arrives back in Bascom with her 5 year daughter Bay. The two of them are escaping the tumultuous life with Bay’s father, David.

A lot of the story involves the house in which Claire and Sydney grew up in and the magic that lies within the home. Sarah Addison Allen has created a story of memorable characters with a twinge of magic, absolutely wonderful.

6 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Progress and Review #4 Garden Spells – Sarah Addison Allen

  1. stilettostorytime says:

    Sarah Addison Allen is one of my favorite authors. I love her work,as a southern girl…she’s right up my alley! Her next work is about peaches!

  2. Shanyn says:

    In a Story Book

    At night when sunshine goes away,
    And it’s too dark for me to play,
    I like to come inside, and look
    For new friends in a story book.

Leave a Reply

