Read-a-Thon Progress and Review #3 For One More Day – Mitch Albom

I’m not going to lie, I’m a little sleepy. I had to do my dishes and have a mini Shania Twain dance party to revive my system, but I think it did the trick! I’m kind of cloud nine because not only did I just finish my third book of the day, but I won 2 books from the prize list – um, score!!! My name was chosen for one of the surprise drawings!

The book I just finished was by the talented, Mitch Albom. The book is titled, “For One More Day

Mitch Albom is the author of the very popular book, “Tuesdays with Morrie” and he managed to write another brilliant novel when he wrote “For One More Day”. The novel is a ghost story, but not one of those ghost stories that will keep you up at night cursing the author for scaring you. It’s a novel of a man who Albom encounters one day while passing through a small town. He is pointed out by the man at the gas station, who claims that the man sitting watching a kid’s baseball team, Charles “Chick” Benetto tried to kill himself and has quite a story to tell.

Albom goes on to tell the story that Chick told him on that day. Chick’s first words to Albom are, “Let me guess. You want to know why I tried to kill myself”. We then hear the story of Chick’s upbringing, a father who rarely shows affection towards his son unless it involves baseball and a mother that would do anything for him and who is happy to show affection towards both of her children.

Chick yearns for attention from his father, sometimes hurting his mother in the process. Now Chick is grown and has a family of his own. His mother has just passed and he can’t take his feelings of guilt and regret anymore. He falls into a mess of drunk behaviour and leaves his loving wife and daughter. Ultimately, he feels he’s got nothing to live for, so he drives to his home town where there are many memories of his childhood and decides to off himself.

What he doesn’t expect is to be in limbo with his mother, whom he sees after crashing his car off a cliff. From there, he and his mother go on a journey together all over the town. He learns things about his mother that he never knew and the feelings he experiences throughout the novel will cause the reader to continue to think about this novel for years to come.

This novel will make you cherish the people around you everyday and I suggest to keep a pack of kleenex nearby. I’m off to tackle my next book with a giant cup of tea I just made – Happy Reading!!!

 

6 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Progress and Review #3 For One More Day – Mitch Albom

  1. Kim says:

    Shania Twain always gets me moving — Thanks! I will have to remember that.

    I haven’t read this book, or any of his — I know, call Ripleys! Later . . .

  2. Stephanie N says:

    Hi! I’m actually passing through by way of the Blog Hop but this post caught my interest so I thought I would post here instead.

    I love ghost stories so I am adding this one to my wish list. Thanks for sharing.

  3. softdrink says:

    Congrats on your win!!

    Readathon! Readathon! Rah rah rah!
    Readathon! Readathon! Rah rah rah!
    Readers got the books
    I’ve got a cheer
    You get to read all day
    I know you’ll persevere
    YAY!

  4. velvet says:

    GO GO GO
    don’t stop that reading flow!

    congrats on your wins.

    i liked this albom book and the tuesdays one too. fast reads but filled with lessons to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

