Read-a-Thon Progress and Review #1 Confections of a Closet Master Baker – Gesine Bullock-Prado

Well I’ve been at it for about 2 hours and I’ve had one cup of tea, toast and just cracked open my first can of Red Bull. It seems that my excitement from last night was making me a little sleepy when I finally got into the thick of reading, so thank god for energy drinks.

I just finished “Confections of a Closet Master Baker” by Gesine Bullock-Prado and yes, the Bullock is an indication that she is indeed Sandra Bullock’s little sister.

Gesine (who will growl at the incorrect pronouncing of her name) has written a memoir about her experience of once being a Hollywood executive to becoming the owner of a little bakery nestled in the heart of Vermont. As I already mentioned, she is the sister of the famous Sandra Bullock and after Gesine had finished law school, she became her sister’s right hand man, but would cringe everytime she heard the words, “romantic comedy”. She typically would show up to meetings with baked goods for everyone, because that’s where her real passion lay. She and her supporting husband quickly realized that Hollywood wasn’t for them and decided to pack up and follow Gesine’s dream of baking full-time. She explains in her memoir, “I didn’t want more stuff. I wanted to be more happy. I wanted to be good. I wanted to stop hating people and start understanding. And the only way I knew how to feel like a good and kind person was through baking”

Once Gesine realized that baking was what she wanted to do on a full-time basis, her sister mentioned her in “In Touch” magazine and the orders started rolling in. It was quickly evident that she would have to open her own bakery, properly named, “Gesine Confectionary” and she goes on to explain the process of getting started and what a typical day-to-day experience is like from morning to close.

***WARNING: You will be hungry for some sugary treat while reading this novel*** Gesine is also kind to share a recipe at the end of each chapter. However, she doesn’t share the recipe for her famous macaroons, which she discusses continuously throughout the novel.

Throughout the memoir, she pays particular homage to her deceased mother, who inspires her baking. You can feel the sense of love in their bond while reading this book. She also acknowledges her father, sister and husband’s encouragement of following her dream. The book is filled with family love, family baking and a love for Vermont. You can also visit Gesine’s blog over at Confections of a (Closet) Master Baker

Be sure to check out the book trailer below:

5 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Progress and Review #1 Confections of a Closet Master Baker – Gesine Bullock-Prado

  1. Vasilly says:

    Wow! I can’t believe you’re actually reviewing books during the read-a-thon! I don’t think any of the books I’m going to read today are going to ever get reviewed later. This sounds like a really good book.

    You’re doing great!

  2. Kim says:

    Congrats on finishing your first book! How you do you type and read at the same time. 🙂 I think I’m going to go grab some sugar after reading this.

Leave a Reply

