Read-a-Thon Preparation

I haven’t been reading for the last couple of days because I’m saving all my reading energy for the big read-a-thon. I’ve got the whole day free and I’m really going to try to read for 24 hours straight. My start time begins at 8am and I’ve been picking and choosing what books I want to read on Saturday – trust me, it’s hard. The admin. team suggests to read smaller books so you don’t get overwhelmed. I put away all my John Irving titles and chose things that I believe aren’t too intimidating.

The selections I chose for my Read-a-Thon as shown below *Please note the 4 pack of Red Bull I plan on consuming in order to help me stay up for a full 24 hours.

1. Identical Strangers – Elyse Schein and Paula Bernstein
2. Welcome to the Departure Lounge – Meg Federico
3. Garden Spells – Sarah Addison Allen
4. Godmother – Carolyn Turgeon
5. The Phantom Tollbooth – Norton Juster
6. The Face on the Milk Carton – Caroline B. Cooney
7. Island of the Blue Dolphins – Scott O’Dell
8. Confections of a Closet Master Baker – Gesine Bullock-Prado
9. For One More Day – Mitch Albom
10. The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing – Melissa Bank

Will I be able to read 10 books? No – but I’m going to give it my 100% to read as many as I can. I’m most excited to read “Garden Spells” and “Confections of a Closet Master Baker”

If you were to read for 24 hours, what book would you make sure you read off your bookshelf???

10 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Preparation

  1. nomadreader (Carrie) says:

    I loved The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing when I read it in college. I should reread it soon. I did not love Godmother, but it was a fun, quick, light read and should work well for the read-a-thon.

  2. Kim says:

    I recently added Garden Spells to my TBR list — hope you like it. I pulled 12 off my shelf — but will try to have a variety of genres. I’m looking forward to it. Good luck!

    P.S. I also added your name to my sea of blogs. I don’t Tweet, but put you on my Reader.

  3. Chelle says:

    I’m going to attept to read Graceling, A Wrinkle in Time, When You Reach Me and, if I have lots of stamina, American on Purpose and Shiver. Looks like you’ll stay busy tomorrow, too! I envy your red bulls. I’m on a no soda diet =( so I’ll be drinking lots of tea.

  4. JK says:

    Migod, Reeder! I don’t even think I could stay awake! But good luck! And Garden Spells is a great thing to read — easy an delightful.

  5. Amused says:

    Great list! I loved Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing when I read it a while ago and I’d love to see what you think of Garden Spells. Have fun!

  6. Bookjourney says:

    I have a few I have been waiting to read like Fablehaven and Fallen…. also the first Sookie Stackhouse book and the first 39 Clues book…. who knows though…. I have pre picked nothing! 🙂

  7. The Brain Lair says:

    As a middle school librarian, I am sad to say that I’ve not read The Phantom Tollbooth nor Island of the Blue Dolphins. Am now going to put some middle grade into my reading….

Leave a Reply

