Review: Extreme Vinyl Cafe – Stuart McLean

While I was reading this collection of stories in “Extreme Vinyl Cafe“, I kept jotting down notes about what I loved about the collection so much. These are some of the things I wrote down…

– Stuart McLean’s writing is effortless
– When you’re reading the stories, you believe that the family of Dave and Morely could be your neighbors
– Genius
– Hilarious

Stuart McLean is the host of the Sunday CBC program called “The Vinyl Cafe” and I fell in love with his radio show back in my university days when I worked on Sunday afternoons and the only station the store got was CBC. His stories (most of the time) talks about the lives of the fictional family, Dave, Morely, Stephanie and Sam. The stories he tells involving these 4 characters are so heart warming and realistic that you will instantly fall in love with each of them.

Stuart explains in the introduction that the reason this collection is called “Extreme Vinyl Cafe“, key word being extreme, is because his editors wanted him to take it to the “next level”. He wasn’t sure how to take it to the next level, so he went to the people he works with each Sunday and they suggested he answer some of the letters he always receives from his fans and that’s exactly what he does. The twist is, is that he answers in a way that relates the story to an experience that Dave and Morely have experienced.

You’ll hear hilarious stories about buying a casket prematurely, slip and slides, janitors and the ramifications of locking yourself in your trunk. Each story is written with an experienced and thoughtful hand and this collections of stories is a great choice if you’re looking for a laugh.

2 thoughts on “Review: Extreme Vinyl Cafe – Stuart McLean

  1. Erin says:

    I have some of his other books and love them. I was introduced to Dave stories by my grade 12 English teacher and have loved them ever since. My Dad has listened to the CBC for as long as I can remember, so when I read those books I hear Stuart’s voice and picture my Dad, who is also named Dave.

  2. Linna says:

    I’ve never read anything like this before- it sounds pretty unique! And even if Dave & his family is fictional, they still seem like real people? I’m going to check this out. My dad’s a huge fan of those CBC radio shows ;D

Leave a Reply

