Review: Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac – Gabrielle Zevin

Gabrielle Zevin’s novel, “Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac” was just okay. The story is about a 16 year girl named Naomi, she’s an athlete, a member of the yearbook staff and a child of divorced parents. She and her best friend, Will, are co-editors of the school yearbook and one day flip a coin to see who will go retrieve a camera they accidently left inside the school. Naomi loses and runs down the slippery stars and accidently trips and bangs her head. Next thing you know she wakes up in the hospital with a 4 year memory loss and is staring at a boy she’s never seen before who was responsible for getting her to the hospital.

The reason I didn’t particularly like this book is because I didn’t like Naomi – at all. I found her to be very selfish, self righteous and frankly, a little annoying. After her memory loss, she is quick to accept certain things that people tell her about her life, like that Will is her best friend and that she is a photographer. She’s also willing to try new things, like joining the drama team and starring in a play. However, when she finds out that her parents have divorced and finds out that she was not happy about it before the head trauma, she quickly reverts to her old feelings, not giving either parent a chance to explain.

There was a lot of different things happening in these 271 pages:
– Boyfriend #1
– Boyfriend #2
– Falling in love after 2 dates
– Photography
– Depression
– Suicide

It just seemed to me that the author had a lot to discuss and Naomi was her outlet.

So as you can see it wasn’t my favorite YA book, but I did love her Dad, who throughout the novel was supportive, loving and hands her an inscripted novel for each birthday. Personal favorites such as, “Harold and the Purple Crayon“, “Holes” and “Possession“. 

Another plus was the 3 bookmarks I found in the novel – thank you Toronto Public Library!

7 thoughts on “Review: Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac – Gabrielle Zevin

  1. Amused says:

    Too bad this was a bit of a miss. I love that cover though! I have a necklace that has a reclaimed old typewriter key like the ones on that cover that I just love 🙂

  2. diane says:

    This title caught my eye when it was first released, and although I rarely read YA, I was happy to catch your review. Thanks for stopping by as well!

  3. Cass says:

    I felt the same way about Naomi! This book could have been really good, but I think the author fell into the “it’s just a ya novel” trap and didn’t fully flesh out her characters. I was so frustrated with how Naomi didn’t seem to GROW at all. Disappointing.

  4. Justine says:

    Whoa, suicide?! :O!!!!!!!
    *calms down*
    Hmm, maybe I’ll give this one a try even though the main character may get to my nerves. I like the topic of amnesia…and I’m also into deep reads nowadays. But thanks for your review 🙂

Leave a Reply

